allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

Pièce en argent fin - Nénuphar (2010)


Tirage 10 000
STATUT :
Seulement au Canada et aux É.-U.
Archivé
104,95 $CAD
 

Les émissions 2009 à effet cristallin se sont vite épuisées!

Une pièce de collection unique célèbre la splendeur florale du Canada.

Particularités :
C’est la troisième fois seulement que nous réunissons couleur et effet cristallin pour créer un souvenir inédit de la riche flore canadienne, l’éclat de l’argent pur à 99,99 % se prêtant parfaitement à l’évocation de l’eau.

Motif :
Fleur de nénuphar trônant entre deux feuilles flottantes, avec trois éléments cristallisés Swarovski* tenant lieu de gouttelettes scintillantes.

Joyaux de la flore canadienne
La beauté de la couleur s’allie à l’éclat d’un effet cristallin pour mettre en valeur sur fond d’argent pur à 99,99 % le somptueux nénuphar (Nymphaea odorata), cette plante aquatique qui dès l’été et jusqu’à la mi-automne décore les lacs laurentiens de ses fleurs roses ou blanches et ses feuilles rondes et vertes capables d’atteindre 28 cm de diamètre.

La fleur en forme de calice se prête à un processus de pollinisation tout à fait unique. Le nénuphar ne fleurit que trois jours, s’épanouissant le matin et se refermant l’après-midi. Le premier jour, un fluide odorant attire les insectes porteurs de pollen, qui viennent s’en décharger sur les stigmates. Les deuxième et troisième jours, la fleur libère à son tour du pollen, emporté par les insectes qui lui rendent visite. Puis la tige se rétracte, entraînant la fleur sous l’eau, où les graines parvenues à maturité seront lâchées dans le lac.

Dans tout le continent, de nombreuses tribus amérindiennes utilisaient les racines, les feuilles et les fleurs à des fins médicinales. Les rhizomes, les jeunes pousses et les bourgeons inférieurs étaient consommés tels quels et les graines étaient frites ou moulues en farine.

Cette plante fascinante n’a pas échappé à l’attention du frère Marie-Victorin (1885-1944), éminent botaniste canadien et fondateur du Jardin botanique de Montréal. Elle figure parmi les 2 800 illustrations de sa Flore laurentienne, un ouvrage encyclopédique qui, encore de nos jours, est une référence indispensable dans les cours universitaires.

Le lotus du Nord
Le nénuphar est apparenté au lotus, une plante mythique dont la fleur bien-aimée revêt un puissant symbolisme dans des cultures du monde entier. Du fond des eaux boueuses, elle a le don en effet d’apporter la vie et la beauté à la surface, une métaphore qui est sans doute à l’origine de l’ancienne croyance égyptienne en un monde issu de l’humidité.

Lire la description complète

Évaluations

Produits connexes

Articles visionnés récemment

Sign up for email updates from the Mint and be in the know

You may unsubscribe anytime.

Print this page

Fine Silver Coin - Water Lily (2010)

Mintage 10000
Canada and US only
Archived
$104.95 CAD
 

Previous 2009 crystal effect coins sold out!

A unique collectible honouring Canada’s botanical heritage.

Highlights:
This is only the third coin to combine colour and a crystal effect to create a unique keepsake of Canada’s diverse flora, with the shine of 99.99% pure silver as the ideal composition for capturing the essence of water.

Coin design:
A beautiful water lily poised between two floating leaves with three CRYSTALLIZED™ - Swarovski Elements adding delicate drops of glittering water.

Canada’s botanical jewels.
Glorious colour and a shimmering crystal effect combine on 99.99% pure silver to create a breathtaking tribute to the water lily (Nymphaea odorata), a beautiful water plant that crowns Laurentian lakes from early summer to mid-autumn with showy pink or white flowers and round green leaves that can reach up to 28 cm (11 in) in diameter.

The flower’s cup-like form is designed for a unique pollination process. Each lily blooms for only three days, opening in the morning and closing in the afternoon. On the first day, it releases a sweetsmelling fluid to attract pollen-laden insects that are washed clean and fertilize the stigmas. On the second and third days, the flower releases pollen which is carried away by insects that visit the plant. Then, the plant’s stalks recoil, pulling the flower under water where its seeds mature and are released into the lake.

Throughout North America, many First Nations communities used the water lily’s roots, leaves and flowers for medicinal purposes. Even the rhizomes, young leaves and lower buds were eaten and the seeds were fried or ground into flour.

This intriguing beauty also caught the attention of Brother Marie-Victorin (1885-1944), one of Canada’s greatest botanists and founder of Montreal’s historic Botanical Garden. He included the water lily in one of the 2,800 illustrations in his book Flore laurentienne—a monumental work that remains a cornerstone reference in university botany courses to this day.

Lotus of the north
The water lily is related to the lotus, hailed the loveliest of flowers with powerful symbolism in cultures throughout the world. Much of this symbolism is attributed to the flower’s ability to emerge from the depths of muddy waters to bring life and beauty to the surface—an image that inspired the ancient Egyptian myth of a world created out of moisture.

Read the full description

You may also like

Previous coins
  • 1/25-Oz Gold Coin - RCMP (2010) 1/25-Oz Gold Coin - RCMP (2010)
    Rating: 4.5
    51 reviews
    $109.95 CAD
  • Special Edition Specimen Set - Young Lynx (2010) Special Edition Specimen Set - Young Lynx (2010)
    Rating: 3.5
    43 reviews
    $49.95 CAD
  • Fine Silver Coin - Maple Leaf Crystal Raindrop (2010) Fine Silver Coin - Maple Leaf Crystal Raindrop (2010)
    Rating: 5.0
    18 reviews
    $104.95 CAD
  • Fine Silver Coin - 75th Anniversary of the First Bank Notes (2010) Fine Silver Coin - 75th Anniversary of the First Bank Notes (2010)
    Rating: 4.0
    13 reviews
    $54.95 CAD
Next coins