Pièce de 1 oz en argent pur - Série Champs de bataille de la Seconde Guerre mondiale : La bataille de Hong Kong (2016)
MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%

Pièce de 1 oz en argent pur – Série Champs de bataille de la Seconde Guerre mondiale : La bataille de Hong Kong (2016)

Follow us on YouTube Imprimer cette page

Pièce de 1 oz en argent pur – Série Champs de bataille de la Seconde Guerre mondiale : La bataille de Hong Kong (2016)

92,95 $CAD
Tirage : 10 000
STATUT :
Seulement au Canada et aux É.-U.

Voici la deuxième pièce de la nouvelle série Champs de bataille de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Commandez la vôtre sans tarder!

« Les hommes de tous les grades ont combattu jusqu'au bout, et on ne peut leur en demander plus. » [traduction libre] – L'Honorable J. L. Ralston, s'adressant à la Chambre des communes

Le premier combat terrestre que les Canadiens ont mené durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale a débuté le 8 décembre 1941, à peine quelques heures après l'attaque de Pearl Harbor, quand les Japonais ont lancé l'invasion de la colonie de la Couronne britannique de Hong Kong. Moins nombreux et moins bien équipés que l'ennemi, les soldats canadiens étaient nettement désavantagés dans leur défense de la péninsule, puis de l'île elle-même. Ils étaient 1 975; plus de 550 d'entre eux ont péri dans une lutte acharnée de 17 jours durant laquelle ils ont combattu bravement, parfois dans de violents corps à corps, jusqu'au bout de leurs forces. Cette pièce en argent fin rend hommage au courage et à la détermination dont les soldats canadiens ont fait preuve dans la bataille de Hong Kong.

Un ajout émouvant à toute collection ayant pour thème l'univers militaire. Commandez votre exemplaire dès aujourd'hui!

Caractéristiques particulières
  • UN HOMMAGE AU RÔLE CAPITAL DU CANADA DANS LES GRANDES BATAILLES DE LA SECONDE GUERRE MONDIALE. Lancée à l'occasion du 75e anniversaire de la bataille de Hong Kong, cette pièce rend hommage aux soldats canadiens qui ont mené l'un des premiers combats terrestres sur le front pacifique pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  • MOTIF RICHEMENT DÉTAILLÉ. Les détails finement ciselés de cette pièce mettent en valeur la maîtrise artistique et la gravure de calibre mondial de la Monnaie royale canadienne.
  • EFFIGIE DU ROI GEORGE VI. Cette pièce est à l'effigie du roi George VI, selon T. H. Paget.
  • PIÈCE DE 1 ONCE EN ARGENT PUR À 99,99 %. Aucune TPS ni TVH.

Motif

Le motif au revers, œuvre de l'artiste canadien Joel Kimmel, illustre l'intensité du combat et le courage exceptionnel dont ont fait preuve les soldats canadiens durant la bataille de Hong Kong, qui s'est déroulée du 8 au 25 décembre 1941. Au milieu de la jungle et du terrain accidenté de l'île de Hong Kong, deux soldats canadiens membres des forces alliées tentent de freiner l'avancée de l'ennemi vers le col de Wong Nai Chung. L'homme à l'avant-plan porte l'uniforme du contingent pacifique : manches et pantalons courts. Se lançant à l'assaut avec bravoure et détermination, il passe devant une casemate en béton qui porte les marques d'un feu bien nourri d'artillerie lourde. À l'arrière-plan, un autre soldat gravit le bord d'une falaise pentue qui surplombe la baie, braquant son fusil à baïonnette Lee-Enfield. L'offensive musclée de l'ennemi est appuyée par une forte présente aérienne, illustrée par le Mitsubishi Zero qui, touché à l'hélice, plonge en piqué, laissant derrière lui un épais panache de fumée. La nature oppressante de l'attaque japonaise est également rendue par les navires qui sillonnent la baie, enclavée entre la falaise et le relief montagneux de l'île à l'arrière-plan.

Le saviez-vous?
  • Les Japonais ont lancé leur invasion à peine huit heures après avoir attaqué la base navale américaine de Pearl Harbor le 7 décembre, mais on considère que la bataille de Hong Kong a débuté le lendemain en raison de la ligne internationale de changement de date : il y a 18 heures de décalage entre Hawaï et Hong Kong.
  • Parmi les troupes canadiennes à Hong Kong se trouvaient deux médecins militaires, trois aumôniers, deux officiers des forces auxiliaires, deux infirmières militaires, deux officiers du Corps dentaire et leurs assistants, ainsi qu'un détachement du Service de la poste aux armées.
  • Les forces canadiennes déployées à Hong Kong n'ont jamais reçu tout le matériel lourd qu'elles attendaient : 212 des véhicules envoyés à bord du cargo Don Jose à destination de Hong Kong avant la déclaration de la guerre contre le Japon se sont rendus jusqu'à Manille, où ils ont ensuite été réaffectés à la défense des Philippines.
  • Parmi les nombreuses victimes se trouvait le premier Canadien à avoir été décoré de la Croix de Victoria pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il s'est sacrifié en se lançant sur une grenade pour sauver la vie des hommes de la Compagnie A des Winnipeg Grenadiers.
  • Un chien de Terre-Neuve nommé Gander a également reçu des honneurs posthumes pour sa bravoure, s'étant précipité grenade en gueule vers l'ennemi. Son nom figure sur le mur commémoratif des anciens combattants de la bataille de Hong Kong, à Ottawa.
  • Les Japonais envahissent Hong Kong le matin du 8 décembre 1941 en lançant un raid aérien sur l'aéroport Kai Tak, puis sur le camp de Sham Shui Po, où deux hommes du Corps royal canadien des transmissions périssent, devenant les premières victimes canadiennes de la bataille de Hong Kong.
  • Sur terre, les imposantes troupes ennemies livrent un combat sans relâche pour s'emparer du terrain surélevé, poussant l'offensive au sud de la péninsule, le long des montagnes et vers la Gin Drinkers Line, ligne de défense britannique formée de casemates et de tranchées visant à protéger la péninsule de Kowloon et Victoria Harbour. Le 13 décembre au soir, la péninsule est perdue, et avec elle la vie d'un soldat canadien capturé, premier de nos fantassins tués pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  • Refusant d'abdiquer, les forces alliées se regroupent sur l'île de Hong Kong, où elles se divisent en deux : une brigade à l'est (comprenant les Royal Rifles of Canada) et une autre à l'ouest (formée des Winnipeg Grenadiers). L'ennemi lance une attaque amphibie sur l'île le 18 décembre, puis avance vers le centre jusqu'au col de Wong Nai Chung, ce qui lui permet de percer la ligne de défense.
  • Rien ne semble s'améliorer pour les troupes assiégées. À l'est, les Royal Rifles réussissent à faire reculer l'ennemi de plusieurs positions surélevées, mais se trouvent vite à court de munitions, de vivres et d'eau. À l'ouest, la Compagnie A des Grenadiers est cernée de toutes parts, puis capturée. Lawson lui-même périt lorsqu'il sort de son quartier général, armé de deux pistolets pour se battre avec l'ennemi qui l'encercle. Pendant trois jours, la Compagnie D des Grenadiers repousse l'armée japonaise jusqu'à ce que celle-ci fasse exploser la porte de son abri; les Japonais sont alors stupéfaits de ne trouver que 37 soldats blessés, qui s'acharnent à combattre malgré leur dénuement.
  • La reddition inévitable des Alliés se produit le 25 décembre, sombre date qui est passée à l'histoire sous le nom de « Noël noir ». Pour leur part, les Canadiens ont fait preuve d'une résilience incroyable, ayant résisté à une armée beaucoup plus grande et mieux équipée qu'eux, forte d'une artillerie lourde et d'une présence aérienne dominante. Les victimes canadiennes s'élèvent alors à 290 morts et à 493 blessés, mais bien d'autres endureront la souffrance et l'adversité en tant que prisonniers de guerre. Nous n'oublierons jamais les soldats du contingent canadien à Hong Kong, dont la persévérance, le courage et le sens du sacrifice leur ont valu une place d'honneur dans l'histoire militaire de notre pays.

Emballage

La pièce est encapsulée et présentée dans un boîtier à double coque bordeaux orné du logo de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Le boîtier est assorti d'une boîte protectrice illustrée.

Commandez votre exemplaire dès aujourd'hui!

Évaluations

Vous avez des questions sur ce produit ?

Vous pouvez contacter le Service Client ou…

recevoir les réponses de clients réels et de professionnels experts avec AnswerBoxx.

1 Question | 1 Réponse
Question 1
Question 1

Vous avez une question sur ce produit ? 

Spécifications

  • No147818
  • Tirage10 000
  • Compositionargent pur à 99,99 %
  • Finiépreuve numismatique
  • Poids (g) 31,39
  • Diamètre (mm) 38
  • Tranchedentelée
  • Certificatnuméroté
  • Valeur nominale20 dollars
  • ArtisteJoel Kimmel (revers), T. H. Paget (avers)

Articles visionnés récemment

1 oz. Pure Silver Coin - Second World War Battlefront: The Battle of Hong Kong (2016)
MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%

1 oz. Pure Silver Coin – Second World War Battlefront: The Battle of Hong Kong (2016)

Follow us on YouTube Print this page

1 oz. Pure Silver Coin – Second World War Battlefront: The Battle of Hong Kong (2016)

$92.95 CAD
Mintage: 10,000
STATUS:
Canada and US only

Second coin in the new Second World War Battlefront series. Order today!

“…All ranks fought it out to the last and more cannot be asked of any man.” – The Honourable J.L. Ralston, speaking in the House of Commons.

Canada's first land combat of the Second World War began on December 8, 1941, when, mere hours after the attack on Pearl Harbor, the Japanese launched an invasion on the British Crown Colony of Hong Kong. Outnumbered and less well equipped than the enemy, the odds were not in the Canadians' favour as they defended the peninsula, then the island itself. Over 550 of the 1,975 Canadians sent to Hong Kong never made it home; but during the 17 days of fierce fighting, they fought valiantly, even engaging in hand-to-hand combat with the enemy, as they defended Hong Kong to the very end. This fine silver coin pays tribute to the bravery and resolve of these Canadian soldiers throughout the Battle of Hong Kong.

A poignant addition to your military-themed coin display. Order yours today!

Special features:
  • COMMEMORATES CANADA'S ROLE IN KEY BATTLES OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR. Your coin is a commemoration of the 75th anniversary of the Battle of Hong Kong, and the legacy of the Canadian soldiers who fought in one of the first land battles in the Pacific during the Second World War.
  • FINE DETAILS. Your coin is struck with fine details which showcase the Royal Canadian Mint's world-class artistry and skillful engraving.
  • EFFIGY OF KING GEORGE VI: Your coin features the effigy of King George VI by T. H. Paget.
  • 1-OUNCE 99.99% PURE SILVER COIN. Your coin is GST/HST exempt.

Design:

Designed by Canadian artist Joel Kimmel, your coin captures the intensity of the fight and the sheer bravery of Canadian soldiers during the Battle of Hong Kong (December 8-25, 1941). Amidst the jungle conditions and rugged terrain of Hong Kong Island, two Canadian soldiers are among the Allied forces that formed a line of defence to counter the enemy's advance toward the Wong Nai Chung Gap. The soldier in the foreground is dressed in the shorts and short sleeves of the Pacific uniform; rushing forward with resolve and courage, he makes his way past a concrete pillbox that bears the markings of heavy artillery fire. Behind him, a soldier moves up the sloped edge of a cliff overlooking the bay, and aims his Lee Enfield rifle with bayonet. The all-out enemy assault was backed by a strong air presence, as represented by the Mitsubishi Zero falling from the clouds towards the ground, with heavy smoke rising up from its propeller. The overwhelming nature of the Japanese attack is also conveyed through the ships that fill the bay between the island and the mountainous mainland in the background.

Did you know…
  • The Japanese invasion was launched just eight hours after the December 7 attack on the U.S. naval base at Pearl Harbor, yet the start of the Battle of Hong Kong is on December 8th—this is due to the International Date Line, which means Hong Kong and Hawaii are separated by an 18-hour time difference.
  • Canada's force in Hong Kong also included two medical officers, three chaplains, two Auxiliary Service Officers, two Nursing Sisters, two officers of the Canadian Dental Corps and their assistants, plus a detachment of the Canadian Postal Corps.
  • Their heavier equipment—or 212 of the vehicles assigned to the Canadian forces in Hong Kong—would never arrive; on-board the freighter Don Jose, they made it as far as Manilla before the war against Japan was declared, and were then diverted to assist in the defence of the Philippines.
  • Among the many casualties was the first Second World War Canadian recipient of the Victoria Cross who selflessly threw himself on a grenade to save his fellow soldiers of the Winnipeg Grenadiers' “A” Company.
  • A Newfoundland dog named Gander was also posthumously awarded for his sacrifice, by picking up a grenade and rushing toward the enemy—his name is among those on the Hong Kong Veterans Memorial Wall in Ottawa.
  • The Japanese invasion of Hong Kong began on the morning of December 8, 1941, when aircraft attacked the Kai Tak airport before targeting the Sham Shui Po, where two men of the Royal Canadian Signals became the first Canadian casualties in Hong Kong.
  • On the ground, the large enemy force fought hard to reach the high ground as they pushed south along the mountainous mainland toward the Gin Drinkers' Line—a defensive line dotted with pillboxes and trenches for the purpose of defending the Kowloon Peninsula and Victoria Harbour. By the evening of December 13, the mainland was lost, and a captured soldier became the first Canadian infantryman killed in the Second World War.
  • Refusing to surrender, the Allied forces regrouped on Hong Kong Island where they were split into two defending forces: an East Brigade (including the Royal Rifles of Canada) and a West Brigade (with the Winnipeg Grenadiers). The enemy launched its amphibious assault on the island on December 18 before pushing to its centre, Wong Nai Chung Gap, and effectively severed the defence in half.
  • There was no relief in sight for the beleaguered troops. In the east, the Royal Rifles succeeded in driving out the enemy from several hill positions but soon found themselves depleted of ammunition, food and water. In the west, “A” Company of the Grenadiers was surrounded and captured. Lawson himself became a casualty when, his headquarters surrounded, he left with two pistols in hand to “fight it out.” For three days, “D” Company of the Grenadiers fought off enemy advances until their door was eventually blown down; inside, the Japanese were shocked to find just 37 wounded Grenadiers, fighting until they had little left.
  • The Allies' inevitable surrender came on December 25—a day that became known as “Black Christmas.” For their part, the Canadians had shown incredible resilience as they held their own against a much larger, well-armed enemy force that had combined heavy artillery fire and air domination. Canadian casualties initially numbered 290 killed and 493 wounded, but many more would endure suffering and hardship as Prisoners of War (POWs). The soldiers of this Canadian contingent in Hong Kong are forever remembered for their perseverance, courage and sacrifice, earning them a place of honour in our nation's military history.

Packaging:

Your coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell with a graphic beauty box.

Order your coin today!

Reviews

Great addition to my collection

5

I love the coins produced by RCM! They look wonderful when properly displayed!

Redcoat7121

Edmonton, Alberta

Yes

This is a part of history

5

Gift to family member as we have a connection to battle.

Sharon

Edmonton AB

Yes

Thank you Canada!

4

I'll go to the Sai Wan Cemetery in Hong Kong next month to pay my respect to these brave Canadians who lost their life in Hong Kong. More expensive to buy it from local dealer.

Nick

Hong Kong

Yes

a great piece of memorabilia

5

A tribute to the veterans who sacrificed for our freedom.

Lest We Forget

Unionville, Ontario

Let us Not Forget What They Did

5

This memorial coin is specially for the 75th years anniversary of Canadian soldiers fighting in Hong Kong. But from the graphic design nobody can tell what and where it commemorate. Looks like just another war memorial coin. The award to the HK war veteran will be a better choice. But still a nice looking memorial coin.

akela

Mississauga, ON

Yes

cation say's it all

4

n/a

dutchie

quinty west

Yes

great design

4

it is better to include information about the coin, history, designer...

Ginny

BC

Yes

good for collection

5

gift for my HK friends

kevinycw

richmond, bc

Yes

VERY SATISFIED

5

coin collector

Bob

Flin Flon Man.

Yes

Paradoxical

5

I can't really tell if I like it or not! I'm considering this coin to be part of a series, it says this is the second coin of the series, yet I haven't found the first on anywhere. So, it will be pointless if the series is not complete

K Farias

Cambridge, ON

Yes

1 oz. Pure Silver Coin – Second World War Battlefront: The Battle of Hong Kong (2016)

4.8 18

100.0

Does the mint sell all the war coins in a set. If so what would the cost be. Thanks

1942

Yes the entire set is available as a subscription at $89.95 per coin. It include current, previous and future releases: http://www.mint.ca/store/coins/1-oz.-fine-silver-10coin-subscription-second-world-war-battlefront-2015-prod2310036?rcmiid=link|categorypage|1_oz_Fine_Silver_10-Coin_Subscription_-_Second_World_War_Battlefront_2015|Shop-World_War

Anonymous

I would like to order the coin from Hong Kong. Do you ship to overseas address?

Louis Wong

Hi Louis, We do not ship to Hong Kong, but we have two authorized dealers there; International Coins (Hong Kong) Ltd. 26/F Wing On House, 71 Des Voeux Road, Central Hong Kong Tel: 852-2845-8330 Fax: 852-2-845-9110 icl@coins.com.hk Kitco (H.K.) Metals Ltd. Floor 5L, Centre Mark II 305-313 Queen's Road Central Hong Kong Tel.: +852 2827-7800 Fax: +852 2827-7899 feedback.hk@kitco.com www.kitco.com.hk

Chad

May I know what is the weight of the whole product including the box?

E Law

The nominal weight of the whole product including the shipping box is about 180 grams.

Yudi (Product Team)

can you deliver to h.k.?

benny

Sorry we only ship to Canada and the US

Anonymous

The official dealer in HK is ICL http://www.coins.com.hk, It sends out the order form to clients today (4 Oct.).

west6

Specifications

  • No.147818
  • Mintage10,000
  • Composition99.99% pure silver
  • Finishproof
  • Weight (g) 31.39
  • Diameter (mm) 38
  • Edgeserrated
  • Certificateserialized
  • Face value20 dollars
  • ArtistJoel Kimmel (reverse), T. H. Paget (obverse)

Recently viewed items