Flash

Look for it in your change!

A unique keepsake to honour Parks Canada's 100 years

Celebrate Parks Canada's 100th anniversary with this legendary $1 commemorative circulation coin. The design of this coin features stylized land, air and aquatic fauna, varieties of flora, as well as a symbolic park building and the silhouette of a hiker framed by a snow-capped mountain range. It is also dated "1911-2011".

Read the full story

The Dominion Parks Branch—known today as Parks Canada—was founded in 1911, and mandated to conserve Canada's unrivalled wilderness for Canadians to explore and enjoy.

By creating the world's first national parks system, Canada has made nature conservation a prized Canadian value and inspired countries around the world to protect their unique wilderness regions.

For a century, Parks Canada has remained the dedicated steward and steadfast guardian of Canada's vast stores of magnificent natural treasures, maintaining them for the pleasure not only of Canadians, but of the world, and of generations yet to come.

Coin design
The reverse design of this coin features stylized land, air and aquatic fauna, varieties of flora, as well as a symbolic park building and the silhouette of a hiker framed by a snow-capped mountain range. It is also dated "1911-2011".

Flash

Repérez-la dans vos poches!

Un souvenir exceptionnel pour souligner les 100 ans de Parcs Canada

Célébrez les 100 ans de Parcs Canada avec ce dollar de circulation commémoratif. Le motif stylisé figurant au revers de cette pièce illustre la terre, l'air et la faune aquatique, une flore variée, de même qu'un bâtiment de parc symbolique et la silhouette d'un randonneur qui se détache d'une chaîne de montagnes aux sommets enneigés. La pièce comporte également un double millésime, 1911 et 2011, indiquant le centenaire.

Lire la description complete

En 1911, la Division des parcs du Dominion, connue aujourd'hui sous le nom de Parcs Canada, a vu le jour avec pour mandat la conservation des splendides étendues naturelles du Canada pour le bien-être des Canadiens.

En créant le premier réseau de parcs nationaux au monde, le Canada inscrivait la conservation des sites naturels au palmarès de nos valeurs, encourageant, en ce faisant, d'autres pays à protéger leurs propres régions sauvages.

Depuis un siècle, Parcs Canada est le gardien dévoué et le fidèle protecteur des immenses et magnifiques trésors naturels du Canada, dont la préservation a été assurée non seulement pour le bonheur des citoyens canadiens, mais de ceux du monde entier ainsi que des générations à venir.

Motif de la pièce
Le motif stylisé figurant au revers de cette pièce illustre la terre, l'air et la faune aquatique, une flore variée, de même qu'un bâtiment de parc symbolique et la silhouette d'un randonneur qui se détache d'une chaîne de montagnes aux sommets enneigés. La pièce comporte également un double millésime, 1911 et 2011, indiquant le centenaire.