Key figures of the War of 1812

On June 18, 1812, the United States declared war on Great Britain, initiating two years of intense fighting. British North American forces fought tenaciously to preserve the way of life of a future Canada. In recognition of their bravery, the Mint has created five circulation coins to commemorate these defining moments of the War of 1812.

The War of 1812 series

HMS Shannon

By 1812, the British Navy was thought to be the most powerful in the world. But after five surprising defeats at the hands of the US Navy, it was feared morale was weakening. Aboard HMS Shannon, Captain Philip Broke was eager to secure a victory and had implemented a rigorous training schedule for his crew. The US frigate sailed to meet the Shannon on June 1, 1813. The battle lasted only 11 minutes, but was a decisive victory that helped bolster confidence in the British Navy. HMS Shannon escorted USS Chesapeake into the Halifax harbour on June 6, 1813.

MAJOR-GENERAL SIR ISAAC BROCK

Remembered as the “Hero of Upper Canada,” for his leadership and bravery during the War of 1812, Major-General Sir Isaac Brock holds a special place in Canada's history. Understanding the importance of his Aboriginal allies in the conflict, Brock joined Tecumseh to take Fort Detroit from their American opponents, despite being outnumbered nearly two to one. He cemented his place in the history books during the Battle of Queenston Heights on October 13, 1812, when American forces crossed the Niagara River to attack. Arriving hastily from Fort George to join the fray, Brock led a charge to retake a crucial gun battery on the Heights, when, while leading his troops, he was shot and killed. British forces won the day though, with the aid of reinforcements and their Aboriginal allies. The victory at Queenston Heights was not only a turning point in the War of 1812, but profoundly influenced Canada's national identity.

TECUMSEH

Chief Tecumseh was born near Springfield, Ohio. His name, which meant both “shooting star” and “crouching panther,” proved prescient, for he became a highly driven and dynamic leader and warrior. Tecumseh dedicated his life to spreading a message of unification among Native North Americans, and building support for a self-governing Aboriginal Territory. During the War of 1812, he joined forces with the British to defend British North America and became an important ally of Major-General Sir Isaac Brock. After their joint victory at For Detroit, a strong mutual respect bonded the two men until their respective deaths in battle. Tecumseh was one of many who fell during the battle at Moraviantown (also known as the Battle of the Thames), when British troops retreated leaving only 500 Aboriginal warriors to fight more than 3,000 American soldiers. His death, and the legacy of his life, immortalized him as a hero of Canadians.

CHARLES-MICHEL De SALABERRY

Born in Beauport, Lower Canada to a family with a history of military service, Charles-Michel de Salaberry enlisted for military service at the age of fourteen. In 1812, de Salaberry took command of the Voltigeurs Canadiens—a light infantry unit that would become one of the most well-known units to fight in the War of 1812. Under de Salaberry's leadership, the Voltigeurs and their Aboriginal allies famously fended off the attack of a substantially larger American force along the banks of the Châteauguay River in October 1813. This victory, among others, secured their place, and Charles-Michel de Salaberry's, in Canada's history.

LAURA SECORD

The story of Canadian heroine Laura Secord is one of the War of 1812's most famous. On June 20 or 21, 1813, Secord overhead American officers discussing their intention to ambush a British outpost at the DeCou House, near Beaver Dams, and capture its commanding officer Lieutenant James FitzGibbon. Early the next morning, Laura set out on foot to warn Lieutenant FitzGibbon, who was roughly 30 kilometers away. She successfully delivered her message first to about 400 First Nations warriors, then to FitzGibbon on June 22, 1813. On June 24, 1813, when American forces thought they had Beaver Dams in their grasp, they were ambused by the First Nations warriors. FitzGibbon's 50 British soldiers arrived in time to accept the American surrender. Although Secord did not receive public recognition for her brave actions until shortly before her death, her courage, and resolution in the face of adversity secured her a place in Canada's history.

Personnages clés de la guerre de 1812

Le 18 juin 1812, les États-Unis déclarent la guerre à la Grande-Bretagne. C'est alors le début de deux années intenses de combats au cours desquels les forces de l'Amérique du Nord britannique mènent une lutte acharnée pour préserver le mode de vie du Canada de demain. En hommage à leur courage, la Monnaie a créé cinq pièces de circulation pour commémorer ces moments déterminants de la guerre de 1812.

La série de la guerre de 1812

HMS Shannon

En 1812, la Marine royale britannique est considérée comme la plus puissante du monde. Cependant, après cinq surprenantes défaites infligées par les Forces navales américaines, il est à craindre que le moral des troupes commence à faiblir. À bord du HMS Shannon, le capitaine Philip Broke est déterminé à remporter une victoire et, à cette fin, il met au point un programme d'entraînement rigoureux pour son équipage. Même si la lettre de défi que Broke envoie au capitaine du Chesapeake ne parvient jamais à destination, la frégate américaine met les voiles et va à la rencontre du Shannon le 1er juin 1813. Le combat durera seulement 11 minutes, mais la victoire sera décisive, car c'est cet événement qui permettra de rétablir la confiance au sein de la Marine britannique. Le HMS Shannon escorte le USS Chesapeake et atteint le port de Halifax le 6 juin 1813.

MAJOR-GÉNÉRAL SIR ISAAC BROCK

Surnommé le « héros du Haut-Canada », le major-général Sir Isaac Brock marqua les mémoires par le leadership et la bravoure qu'il démontra pendant la guerre de 1812, et il occupe une place unique dans l'histoire du Canada. Conscient de l'importance des alliés autochtones dans le conflit, Brock, aux côtés de Tecumseh, se dirigea à l'assaut du fort Detroit pour le reprendre aux mains des Américains, malgré le fait que les forces adverses étaient presque deux fois plus nombreuses. Il marqua pour de bon l'histoire lors de la bataille des hauteurs de Queenston, le 13 octobre 1812, lorsque les forces américaines traversèrent la rivière Niagara pour attaquer. Ce jour-là, Brock arriva à la hâte du fort George pour prendre part à la bataille. Or, à la tête de ses troupes, menant un assaut pour reprendre une batterie de tir importante, il fut tué au combat. Les forces britanniques remportèrent malgré tout la bataille, avec l'aide de leurs alliés des Premières Nations. La victoire des hauteurs de Queenston ne fut pas qu'un tournant dans la guerre de 1812 – elle a aussi profondément influencé le sentiment d'identité nationale canadien.

TECUMSEH

Le chef Tecumseh est né à Springfield, en Ohio. Le nom de Tecumseh, qui signifie à la fois « étoile filante » et « panthère prête à bondir », prédestinait cet homme qui fut un meneur et un guerrier infatigable. Tecumseh a consacré sa vie à transmettre un message d'unification parmi les peuples autochtones d'Amérique du Nord et à recueillir des appuis à l'égard d'un territoire autochtone autonome. Au cours de la guerre de 1812, il a fait front avec les troupes britanniques pour défendre l'Amérique du Nord britannique est il est devenu un allié important du major-général Sir Isaac Brock. Après leur victoire commune à Fort Detroit, un respect mutuel solide s'est établi entre les deux hommes, jusqu'à qu'ils meurent tous deux au combat. Tecumseh est tombé lors de la bataille de Moraviantown (aussi connue sous le nom de bataille du Thames), lorsque les troupes britanniques battirent en retraite, laissant seulement 500 guerriers autochtones affronter plus de 3 000 soldats américains. La mort de Tecumseh et l'histoire de sa vie l'ont immortalisé pour en faire un héros canadien légendaire.

CHARLES-MICHEL De SALABERRY

Né à Beauport, au Bas-Canada, dans une famille de militaires, Charles-Michel de Salaberry s'enrôle en vue de faire son service militaire à l'âge de 14 ans. En 1812, il assume le commandement des Voltigeurs canadiens, un corps d'infanterie légère qui deviendra l'une des plus célèbres unités de la guerre de 1812. En octobre 1813, sous le commandement de Charles-Michel de Salaberry, les Voltigeurs et leurs alliés autochtones repousseront avec succès une attaque des troupes américaines largement plus nombreuses sur les rives de la rivière Châteauguay. Cette valeureuse victoire, parmi d'autres, leur vaudra de se tailler une place, en compagnie de Charles-Michel de Salaberry, au panthéon de l'histoire canadienne.

LAURA SECORD

L'histoire de l'héroïne canadienne Laura Secord est l'une des plus célèbres de la guerre de 1812. Un jour, soit le 20 ou le 21 juin 1813, Laura surprend une conversation entre des officiers américains qui discutent de leur intention de tendre une embuscade aux Britanniques. Ils projettent de s'emparer d'un avant-poste à la maison de John De Cou, près de Beaver Dams, et de capturer son commandant, le lieutenant James FitzGibbon. Tôt le lendemain matin, Laura entreprend de parcourir à pied les quelque 30 kilomètres qui la séparent du lieu où se trouve le lieutenant FitzGibbon. Elle réussit d'abord à livrer son message à un groupe d'environ 400 guerriers des Premières Nations, puis à FitzGibbon le 22 juin 1813. Le surlendemain, les forces américaines, qui comptaient sur l'effet de surprise pour s'emparer de Beaver Dams, sont accueillies par des guerriers autochtones. Les 50 soldats britanniques de FitzGibbon arrivent à temps pour accepter la reddition des Américains. Laura Secord n'obtiendra qu'une seule reconnaissance qui lui sera accordée peu de temps avant sa mort, mais son courage et sa détermination face à l'adversité auront marqué l'histoire du Canada.