Milestones of the War of 1812 told through the experiences of key figures

18 June, 1812

United States President James Madison declares war on Great Britain. American invasion of British North America.

16 August, 1812

Major-General Sir Isaac Brock and Tecumseh
British forces under the command of Major-General Sir Isaac Brock capture Fort Detroit with the help of Indigenous warriors led by Tecumseh.

13 October, 1812

Major-General Sir Isaac Brock -
Battle of Queenston Heights; Brock is killed leading a charge to retake a gun battery.

27 April, 1813

American forces attack and burn York (Toronto).

1 June, 1813

HMS Shannon -
HMS Shannon, under the command of Captain Philip Broke, captures the American frigate USS Chesapeake.

22-24 June, 1813

Laura Secord -
Laura Secord walks 30kms to warn British troops under Lieutenant James FitzGibbon, and their Indigenous allies, of an impending American attack on the British outpost at the Decew House; the result is the British victory at the Battle of Beaver Dams on 24 June.

5 October, 1813

Tecumseh -
Battle of the Thames (also called Battle of Moraviantown). British are defeated by the Americans, and Tecumseh is killed in battle.

26 October, 1813

Charles-Michel de Salaberry -
Battle of Châteauguay: Voltigeurs Canadiens, under de Salaberry's command, stopped an American attack on Montreal.

11 November, 1813

British forces, with the help of the Voltigeurs again defeat American forces seeking to invade Montreal at the Battle of Crysler's Farm. Montreal would not come under threat again after this battle.

24-25 August, 1814

Britain's Royal Navy conducts raids along the Potomac River allowing British troops to capture and burn Washington, DC.

24 December, 1814

The Treaty of Ghent, which officially ended the War of 1812, is signed.