allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

Loading The Experience

This may take some time on slow connections.

Mint Logo

Oops! Your browser is out of date.

Unfortunately your browser doesn't support this web page. To view the Armistice collection, visit https://mint.ca

The 75th Anniversary of D-Day

Juno Beach:
A Soldier’s
Story

On June 6, 1944, about 14,000 Canadians stormed the beaches of Normandy as the Allies launched Operation Overlord. They stepped forward and fought to secure a beachhead on an 8-km stretch of Normandy coast, many falling before reaching the shore. Still, the brave Canadians pushed on, advancing farther than any of the Allies and clearing the way for the invading forces that followed.

This is the 6+ hours of D-Day
told through the lens of a Canadian soldier.

Leaping Into Peril

Red light!” We move into position inside the bomber. No one is speaking, we’re waiting for the green light to come on… and there it is. It’s 0020 hours and for us, D-Day has begun. One by one, we jump feet first into the dark night and float down towards our fate…

Paratroopers of the 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion in a transit camp staging area prior to D-Day, England, ca. 1-5 June 1944.
Personnel of the 1st Canada Parachute Battalion getting ready to leave Carter Barracks for their D-Day transit camp.

They came from the sky. Shortly after midnight on June 6, 1944, the paratroopers of the 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion began to drop behind enemy lines. Their mission: Destroy bridges, neutralize key targets and secure the flanks of the D-Day invasion area.

On D-Day, Canada’s “maroon berets” were the first Canadian troops to set foot on French soil. Jumping feet first into peril, they had to overcome a flak barrage, wayward drops, heavy losses and all the dangers that come with being in the enemy’s midst. But they prevailed.

The 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion succeeded in capturing all of its D-Day objectives: A Company assisted the assault on artillery positions at Merville, where the guns would have hampered the landings at Juno and Sword Beaches; B Company cut a bridge at Robehomme before re-joining the battalion at the Le Mesnil crossroads; and C Company secured the drop zone then cleared out an enemy garrison at Varaville. A reinforced battalion continued to play an offensive role until the war’s end, eventually reaching the Baltic Sea on May 2, 1945.

They were young, in top physical condition, extremely well trained and confident they could do anything. They believed that it was a job to be done, and they committed to do it to the best of their ability...”

– Mrs. Joanne de Vries

A First Step

The ramp drops. One-by-one, we grip our rifles before dropping into the cold surf and into enemy fire. This is it; I’ve trained for this moment. But this isn’t a training exercise: if I make it past the beach, I know this is just the beginning… There’s a hand on my shoulder. It’s my turn, and I know what I have to do. For all of us here at Juno Beach, there is no looking back, only forward.

Commemorative Collector Keepsake

75th Anniversary of D-Day

2019 Commemorative Collector Keepsake

$21.95

They came by sea. Their target: Juno Beach.

On June 6, 1944, some 14,000 Canadians stormed the beaches of Normandy as the Allies launched Operation Overlord. D-Day was the largest amphibious landings in history and the stakes were high: to gain a foothold in Fortress Europe, Allied troops had to break through a coastline fortified with mined obstacles, concrete pillboxes, machine-gun nests and heavy artillery batteries.

From battleships and destroyers to landing craft infantry (LCIs) and transport ships, nearly 7,000 Allied vessels took part in the assault phase known as Operation Neptune.

All forces — air, ground and naval — had undergone intensive training to eliminate potential communication or logistic issues. Troops knew their landing destination by code name: Utah and Omaha Beaches (American forces) in the west; Gold Beach (British forces) and Sword Beach (British and French forces) in the east; and in the centre, Juno Beach (14,000 Canadian and 8,000 British forces).

...one can only imagine with difficulty the fear — and the hope — they felt as their landing craft approached the far shore.”

- Dr. Stephen Harris, CD, PhD
Directorate of History and Heritage, Canadian Armed Forces

True Story Behind the Coin

Learn how historians across Canada, along with the North Shore Regiment, helped the Royal Canadian Mint unlock the identity of the soldier who inspired its 2019 Proof Silver Dollar, honouring the 75th anniversary of D-Day.

Read the blog post
Image sequence of the solider who inspired the artwork from the 75th Anniversary of D-Day Proof Silver Dollar

2019 D-Day Commemorative Collector Keepsake

A SIX-COIN SET

Your D-Day Commemorative Collector Keepsake includes the Canadian 2019 circulation coins.

Artist at work designing the D-Day Proof Silver Dollar coin
Closeup of D-Day Proof Silver Dollar coin artwork
The artist behind the D-Day Proof Silver Dollar coin design

A Footstep in Time

Stepping off the LCA, I plunged into action. It was a 45-metre dash through the cold surf just to reach the shore. Now, it’s a mad race across the open beach to reach the seawall. We’ve come under heavy fire every step of the way. But we’re doing the unthinkable here: we’re breaching the Atlantic Wall, like a giant wave crashing down on the occupying forces in Western Europe. Every new boot print in the sand is one step closer to victory…

Stepping out of the landing crafts, Canadians fought to come ashore at Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer, Bernières-sur-Mer, Courseulles-sur-Mer and Graye-sur-Mer, knowing that success on D-Day was just the beginning.

Many fell before reaching the shore. Bullets rained down on the infantry as they waded through the water, and more dangers awaited them on land. Obstacles, hidden mines and machine gun fire made for a harrowing race across 200 metres of open beach. And behind the seawall were concrete bunkers, machine gun nests, anti-tank guns and pillboxes.

…as they crossed the beach and began the liberation campaign in Northwest Europe, they left their own everlasting mark...”

- Dr. Stephen Harris, CD, PhD
Directorate of History and Heritage, Canadian Armed Forces

D-Day at Juno Beach coin

75th Anniversary of D-Day

D-Day at Juno Beach

$24.95
NO GST/HST*

75th Anniversary of D-Day - Pure Silver Coin

A Footstep that Led to a Foothold

The boot print belongs to the young soldier featured on the 2019 proof dollar. Both coins are part of a year-long journey of remembrance; each one is a different chapter in the story of Canada in the Normandy Campaign.

Bootprint artwork from the D-Day at Juno Beach coin
Closeup of bootprint artwork from the D-Day at Juno Beach coin
Self-portrait of the artist behind the  D-Day at Juno Beach coin design

A Snapshot in Time and the View from the Sky

We were young, but we had bravery well beyond our years. We didn’t go into Normandy to leave our mark on history — we went in to liberate France from the Nazis, knowing how much hinged on our success. On land, on water and in the air, we gave our all for victory at Juno Beach and beyond.

Infantry and armoured units continued to pour onto the increasingly congested beach as the enemy held its position. By 10 a.m., several beach exits were cleared and reserve battalions began moving in. By 12 p.m., all units of the 3rd Canadian Division had come ashore.

Casualties were highest among the first wave of soldiers that broke through the German defences. By day’s end, 340 Canadians had made the ultimate sacrifice, with another 574 wounded. Still, the Canadians pushed on, advancing farther than any other Allies and clearing the way for the invading forces that followed.

Canada had a frontline view of victory on D-Day and throughout the Normandy campaign. It was at Juno Beach that 3rd Canadian Infantry Division supported by 2nd Canadian Armoured Brigade came ashore. And it was here that valour and sacrifice in the sand, sea and sky laid the foundations of a greater victory, one that extended beyond the beaches and first-day objectives.

Landing craft, Infantry (Large) LCI(L) heading towards the beaches at Normandy 1944.
Infantrymen of the Highland Light Infantry of Canada aboard LCI(L) 306 of the 2nd Canadian (262nd RN) Flotilla on D-Day.

My steely resolve

Iam courage. I am strength. I am resolve and duty. Time, distance and experience separate me from the beach where my war began. The enemy was driven out of this area just yesterday, but his mortar shells show us he’s still within range. Our job is to keep up the pressure and pin down the enemy. So we attack, knowing a counterattack usually follows…

It began on Juno Beach, and it continued at Buron. Autie. Carpiquet. Caen. Falaise. D-Day marked the opening of a Second Front and the beginning of the Liberation of Western Europe. But if the landings caught the enemy unawares, the push inland brought Canadians face to face with the backbone of the enemy fighting force, the elite Panzer divisions.

Moving through the Mue and Orne river valleys, the 3rd Canadian Division and 2nd Canadian Armoured Brigade fought to protect the beachhead and prevent a counter-offensive, but their advance was stalled by the enemy’s armoured reserves.

The Canadian spearhead suffered heavy losses at Buron and Authie, where it first encountered the 12th SS Panzer Division; and it was forced to retreat from Putot-en-Bassin before recapturing it. On 11-12 June, Canadian and British units were able to push the Germans out of the town of Rots, but the Canadian attack on Le Mesnil-Patry was repulsed with heavy losses.

In July, with the bridgehead finally secure, 2nd Canadian Infantry Division and 4th Canadian Armoured Division joined the fray as 21 Army Group clawed its way forward. There was heavy fighting for Caen, on the approaches to Falaise, and in the final battles that trapped remaining enemy forces in Normandy and opened the way to the Seine.

From D-Day until the end of the Nomandy campaign, Canadian casualties numbered 18,444, of which 5,021 were fatal.

…by the end of the month the soldiers of 3rd Division and 2nd Armoured Brigade had beaten off the German armour… They were now veterans...”

- Dr. Stephen Harris, CD, PhD, Directorate of History and Heritage, Canadian Armed Forces

Canadian infantrymen holding a former German position on the airfield at Carpiquet, France, 12 July 1944.
Sherman tanks of the Sherbrooke Fusiliers advancing into Caen.

allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

Téléchargement en cours

Cela peut prendre quelques minutes sur des connexions lentes.

Logo Monnaie

Désolé! Votre navigateur est expiré.

Malheureusement, votre navigateur ne supporte pas cette page Web. Pour voir la collection du jour J, visitez https://monnaie.ca

Le 75e anniversaire du jour J

Juno Beach :
La vie
d'un soldat

Le 6 juin 1944, quelque 14 000 Canadiens envahissent les plages de la Normandie alors que les Alliés lancent l’opération Overlord. Ils se sont battus pour prendre le contrôle d’une tête de plage de huit kilomètres sur la côte de la Normandie. Bon nombre d’entre eux sont tombés avant d’atteindre le rivage, mais les braves Canadiens ont néanmoins persévéré, et ils se sont rendus plus loin que toutes les autres forces alliées, ouvrant la voie pour les troupes d’invasion qui arriveraient par la suite.

Ceci sont les six heures du jour J
raconté du point de vue d’un soldat canadien.

Sauter au mépris du danger

«Lumière rouge! » Nous prenons position dans le bombardier. Le silence règne; nous attendons la lumière verte… Voilà le signal. Il est minuit vingt, c’est pour nous le début du jour J. Un à un, nous sautons à pieds joints dans l’obscurité de la nuit, déployons notre parachute et descendons jusqu’à notre destinée…

Soldats du 1er Bataillon canadien de parachutistes, dans la zone d’étape d’un camp de transit avant le jour J, en Angleterre, aux environs du 1er au 5 juin 1944.
Soldats du 1er Bataillon canadien de parachutistes, s’apprêtant à quitter la caserne Carter pour se rendre à leur camp de transit jusqu’au jour J.

Ils sont venus du ciel. Peu après minuit le 6 juin 1944, les premiers soldats du 1er Bataillon canadien de parachutistes sont largués derrière les lignes ennemies. Leur mission : détruire des ponts, conquérir des cibles stratégiques et protéger les flancs de la zone de débarquement.

Le jour J, les « bérets rouges » du Canada sont les premières troupes canadiennes à fouler le sol français. Fonçant au mépris du danger, ils essuient des tirs antiaériens, effectuent des descentes difficiles, subissent de lourdes pertes et affrontent tous les dangers qui nous guettent quand l’ennemi nous entoure. Mais ils triomphent.

Le 1er Bataillon canadien de parachutistes accomplit tous ses objectifs du jour J : la compagnie A participe à l’assaut de la batterie de Merville, dont l’artillerie aurait nui au débarquement à Juno Beach et à Sword Beach; la compagnie B détruit un pont à Robehomme avant de rejoindre le reste du bataillon au carrefour de Le Mesnil; et la compagnie C sécurise la zone de saut, puis défait une garnison ennemie postée à Varaville. Subséquemment renforcé, le bataillon continue de jouer un rôle offensif jusqu’à la fin de la guerre, allant jusqu’à atteindre la mer Baltique le 2 mai 1945.

Au sommet de leur forme dans leur jeunesse, extrêmement bien entraînés et certains de pouvoir accomplir tout ce qui devait être fait, nos soldats étaient déterminés à donner le meilleur d’eux-mêmes... »

– Mme Joanne De Vries

Un pas de plus…

La rampe s’abaisse. Un par un, nous agrippons nos fusils avant de sauter dans l’eau froide, sous les tirs ennemis. Ça y est, le moment où je mets mon entraînement en pratique. Ce n’est plus un exercice : traverser la plage n’est que le début. Quelqu’un pose sa main sur mon épaule. C’est à mon tour, et je sais ce que je dois faire. Pour nous tous ici, impossible de revenir en arrière. Il faut foncer.

Collection de pièces-souvenirs commémoratives

Collection de pièces-souvenirs commémoratives 2019

75e anniversaire du jour J

Ils sont arrivés par mer. Leur cible : Juno Beach.

Le 6 juin 1944, quelque 14 000 Canadiens envahissent les plages de la Normandie alors que les Alliés lancent l’opération Overlord. Le jour J représente le plus grand débarquement amphibie de l’histoire, et il y a beaucoup en jeu. Pour gagner du terrain dans la « forteresse Europe », les troupes alliées doivent traverser un littoral fortifié d’obstacles minés, de casemates en béton, de nids de mitrailleuses et de batteries d’artillerie lourde.

Des cuirassés et des contre-torpilleurs aux péniches de débarquement d’infanterie et aux bâtiments de transport, près de 7 000 navires alliés participent à l’opération Neptune, le volet d’assaut de l’offensive.

Toutes les forces (aériennes, terrestres et navales) ont reçu un entraînement intensif pour éviter les problèmes éventuels de communication et de logistique. Les troupes connaissent leur destination par son nom de code, soit Utah Beach et Omaha Beach (forces américaines) dans l’ouest; Gold Beach (forces britanniques) et Sword Beach (forces britanniques et françaises) dans l’est; et au centre, Juno Beach (14 000 Canadiens et 8 000 Britanniques).

On peut difficilement s’imaginer la peur et l’espoir qui les habitaient alors que leur péniche de débarquement approchait de la plage... »

– Stephen Harris, CD, Ph. D.
Direction – Histoire et patrimoine, Forces armées canadiennes

La véritable histoire qui a inspiré la pièce

Apprenez comment des historiens de partout au Canada, en collaboration avec le North Shore Regiment, ont aidé la Monnaie royale canadienne à résoudre le mystère entourant l’identité du soldat qui figure sur son dollar épreuve numismatique en argent 2019, créé pour souligner le 75e anniversaire du jour J.

Lire le billet de blogue
Séquence d'images du soldat qui a inspiré les illustrations du Dollar épreuve - 75e anniversaire du jour J

Collection de pièces-souvenirs commémoratives 2019 – Jour J

UN ENSEMBLE DE SIX PIÈCES

L'ensemble de pièces commémoratives du jour J comprend les pièces de circulation canadiennes millésimées 2019.

Artiste au travail créant le dollar épreuve numismatique du jour J
Gros plan, dollar épreuve numismatique du jour J
L'artiste responsable du dessin du dollar épreuve numismatique du jour J

Retour sur nos pas

En sortant de la péniche de débarquement, je suis plongé dans l’action. On a 45 mètres à parcourir à la hâte, dans l’eau froide, pour atteindre le rivage. Puis c’est une course effrénée sur la plage rase pour se rendre à la digue. Et tout ça se passe sous les tirs nourris. Mais voilà qu’on réussit l’impensable : percer le mur de l’Atlantique, comme l’eau qui s’infiltre et crée une immense vague prête à s’abattre sur les forces occupant l’Europe occidentale. Chaque nouvelle empreinte de botte dans le sable représente un pas de plus vers la victoire...

Au sortir des péniches de débarquement, les Canadiens luttent pour gagner les côtes de Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer, de Bernières-sur-Mer, de Courseulles-sur-Mer et de Graye-sur-Mer, tout en sachant qu’une fois ce premier combat gagné, ils seront encore loin de la ligne d’arrivée.

Bon nombre d’entre eux tombent avant d’atteindre le rivage. Les balles fusent de toutes parts alors que les soldats de l’infanterie se frayent un chemin dans l’eau. Même une fois sur la terre ferme, ils ne sont pas à l’abri des dangers : des obstacles, des mines dissimulées et des tirs de mitrailleuses rendent la traversée des 200 mètres de plage découverte extrêmement difficile. Derrière la digue se trouvent des bunkers en béton, des nids de mitrailleuses, des canons antichars et des casemates.

en traversant la plage et en lançant l’offensive de libération du Nord-Ouest de l’Europe, ils ont eux-mêmes laissé une trace permanente dans l’histoire... ”

– Stephen Harris, CD, Ph. D.
Direction – Histoire et patrimoine, Forces armées canadiennes

Pièce en argent pur - 75e anniversaire du jour J

75e anniversaire du jour J

Le jour J à Juno Beach

24,95 $
PAS DE TPS/TVH*

Pièce en argent pur - 75e anniversaire du jour J

TOUT A COMMENCÉ PAR UN PAS

L'empreinte de botte est celle du jeune soldat figurant sur le dollar épreuve numismatique 2019. Les deux pièces racontent un chapitre différent de l'histoire des Canadiens durant la campagne de Normandie, histoire que nous revisiterons tout au long de l'année.

Illustration tirée de la pièce en or 14 carats - 75e anniversaire du jour J
Gros plan, illustration tirée de la pièce en or 14 carats - 75e anniversaire du jour J
Autoportrait de l'artiste responsable du dessin de la pièce en or 14 carats - 75e anniversaire du jour J

Le jour J du haut des airs

Nous étions jeunes, mais nous faisions preuve de la bravoure des vétérans les plus aguerris. Si nous avons mis le cap sur la Normandie, ce n’était pas pour laisser notre trace dans l’histoire : c’était pour libérer la France du nazisme. Et nous étions conscients de l’enjeu. Sur la terre, sur l’eau et dans les airs, nous luttions corps et âme pour la victoire à Juno Beach, et au-delà.

Des unités d’infanterie et de blindés continuent d’arriver sur la plage de plus en plus chargée pendant que l’ennemi maintient sa position. À 10 h, plusieurs issues sont sécurisées, et les bataillons de réserve commencent à avancer. À midi, toutes les unités de la 3e Division du Canada ont touché la plage.

La première vague de soldats à percer les défenses allemandes est celle qui subit le plus de pertes. À la fin de la journée, 340 Canadiens ont perdu la vie, et 574 autres sont blessés. Néanmoins, les Canadiens persévèrent et se rendent plus loin que toutes les autres forces alliées, ouvrant la voie pour les troupes d’invasion qui arriveraient par la suite.

Au jour J, comme tout au long de la campagne de Normandie, le Canada est aux premières lignes. C’est à Juno Beach qu’accoste la 3e Division d’infanterie canadienne, appuyée par la 2e Brigade blindée canadienne. Et c’est là que, par la bravoure et le sacrifice sur la terre, sur l’eau et dans le ciel, nous effectuons un premier pas vers la grande victoire, qui nous attend au-delà des plages et des objectifs du premier jour.

Engin de débarquement Landing Craft Infantry (Large) ou LCI(L) se dirigeant vers les plages normandes, 1944.
Fantassins du Highland Light Infantry of Canada, à bord du LCI(L) 306 de la 2e flottille canadienne (262e MR), le jour J.

Une détermination à toute épreuve

J’incarne le courage. J’incarne la force. J’incarne la détermination et le devoir. Temps, distance et expérience me séparent de la plage où ma guerre a commencé. Nous avons chassé l’ennemi hier, mais ses obus indiquent qu’il est toujours à notre portée. Nous devons continuer de serrer les rangs afin d’empêcher sa fuite. Nous passons à l’attaque, sachant qu’une contre-attaque devrait s’ensuivre…

La campagne débute à Juno Beach, puis se poursuit à Buron, à Authie, à Carpiquet, à Caen et à Falaise.

Le jour J marque l’ouverture d’un deuxième front et le début de la libération de l’Europe de l’Ouest. Si le débarquement prend l’ennemi au dépourvu, l’avancée des Canadiens à l’intérieur des terres les mène face au pilier des forces de combat adverses, les divisions d’élite Panzer..

Dans les vallées de la Mue et de l’Orne, la 3e Division et la 2e Brigade blindée du Canada se battent pour protéger la tête de pont et empêcher une contre-offensive; or, leur progression est freinée par les réserves blindées de l’ennemi.

En juillet, la tête de pont étant enfin sécurisée, la 2e Division d’infanterie canadienne et la 4e Division blindée canadienne grossissent les rangs du 21e Groupe d’armée, qui avance de peine et de misère. Des combats acharnés se livrent à Caen, à l’approche de Falaise, et lors des dernières batailles qui permettent de cerner les forces ennemies restantes en Normandie et d’ouvrir la voie vers la Seine.

Du jour J à la fin de la campagne de Normandie, le Canada essuie 18 444 pertes, dont 5 021 ont été fatales.

…à la fin du mois, les soldats de la 3e Division et de la 2e Brigade blindée triomphaient des chars allemands… Ils étaient maintenant des vétérans... »

– Stephen Harris, CD, Ph. D.
Direction – Histoire et patrimoine, Forces armées canadiennes

Fantassins canadiens tenant une position antérieurement occupée par les Allemands, sur un terrain d’aviation à Carpiquet, en France, le 12 juillet 1944.
Char d’assaut Sherman des Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, progressant dans les rues de Caen.