allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativeholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportstraditionalunder_50wedding
allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativeholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportstraditionalunder_50wedding

Minister of Finance Announces Appointment of Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint

Back to Listing

February 11, 2015 Ottawa, Ontario Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today announced the appointment of Carman Joynt as Chairperson of the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint. Mr. Joynt has most recently served as a Director of the Royal Canadian Mint, where he was the Acting Chair of the Audit Committee. His appointment is for a five-year term.

Quick Facts
 • The Royal Canadian Mint is the Crown corporation responsible for the minting
   and distribution of Canada's circulation coins.
 • The Mint is recognized as one of the largest and most versatile mints in the world,
   offering a wide range of specialized, high quality coinage products and related services
   on an international scale.

“Carman Joynt has been an asset to the Royal Canadian Mint and I congratulate him on his appointment as Chairperson of the Board of Directors. I am pleased that the Mint will continue to benefit from his leadership and expertise.” Joe Oliver, Minister of Finance

Media Contacts

Nicholas Bergamini
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Stéphanie Rubec
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Biographical Notes

Carman Joynt is a retired Partner of Deloitte, Chartered Accountants and Management Consultants. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Carleton University. He is also a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario and has earned a certificate from the Institute of Corporate Directors. Mr. Joynt has served the public in various volunteer roles, including past chair of the Ottawa Hospital Foundation, past director of the Home Hospital of Ottawa-Carleton and past governor of Algonquin College in Ottawa.

He is currently a member of the Audit Committee of the Canadian Egg Industry Reciprocal Alliance, Director of Canadian Stebbins Engineering and Manufacturing Co. Ltd., Director of the Management Board of Canadian Geographic magazine and a Board member at the Royal Canadian Mint.