allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

2019 Proof Silver Dollar - The 75th Anniversary of D-Day

2019 Proof Silver Dollar - The 75th Anniversary of D-Day

Sold out
$59.95 CAD
Mintage: 20,000
STATUS:
Canada and US only

They came by sea. Their target: Juno Beach.

On June 6, 1944, about 14,000 Canadians stormed the beaches of Normandy as the Allies launched Operation Overlord. D-Day was the largest amphibious landing in history and the stakes were high: to gain a foothold in Fortress Europe, Allied troops had to break through a coastline fortified with mined obstacles, concrete pillboxes, machine-gun nests and heavy artillery batteries.

“They had trained for months, knowing that 3rd Canadian Infantry Division and 2nd Canadian Armoured Brigade would be assault troops on D-Day. But for the vast majority, this was their first battle ever, the first time they experienced enemy fire. And one can only imagine with difficulty the fear—and the hope—they felt as their landing craft approached the far shore.”

Dr. Stephen Harris, CD, PhD, Directorate of History and Heritage, Canadian Armed Forces

Your 2019 Proof Silver Dollar commemorates the 75th anniversary of D-Day by putting a human face on a historic event. Inspired by a real-life moment seen in the original film footage, a young soldier’s apprehension and a simple gesture remind us of the courage of those who carried the weight of history with them that day. In the face of danger and uncertainty, Canadians fought to come ashore at Saint-Aubin-sur-Mer, Bernières-sur-Mer, Courseulles-sur-Mer and Graye-sur-Mer, knowing that success on D-Day was just the beginning.

Commemorate the 75th anniversary of D-Day with the 2019 Proof Silver Dollar.

Special features:
  • OUR FLAGSHIP COIN: A bestseller since 1937, the annual proof dollar is one of the most sought-after coins issued by the Royal Canadian Mint. The 2019 edition commemorates the 75th anniversary of D-Day (June 6, 1944).
  • A DIFFERENT TAKE ON HISTORY: The highly detailed design puts a human face on an event that changed the course of history. It is a tribute to the courage of every Canadian who stepped off the landing crafts and waded into enemy fire.
  • A FIRST STEP: The 2019 Proof Dollar is your first step in a year-long journey of commemoration and remembrance that stretches across several coins. Our young soldier’s story is part of Canada’s story in the Battle of Normandy, and it continues on a 14-karat gold coin (“A Footstep in Time”).
  • AN IMAGE OF SOUND: A sequence of dots and dashes represents the letter V (for “Victory”) in Morse code—a nod to radio broadcasts that announced the Allied landings.
  • REMEMBERING CANADA’S ROLE: Canadians played an important role on D-Day and throughout the Battle of Normandy. This is our way of honouring their legacy.
  • INCLUDES SERIALIZED CERTIFICATE: The Royal Canadian Mint certifies all of its collector coins.
  • LIMITED MINTAGE: Only 20,000 coins are available worldwide.
  • 99.99% PURE SILVER COIN: Your coin has been expertly crafted in 99.99% pure silver with a proof finish that accentuates every detail to stunning effect. In addition, your coin has no GST/HST.

Design:

Designed by Tony Bianco, your coin steps back in time to the morning of June 6, 1944, as the first wave of Canadian troops storms Juno Beach. The scene shares the same inspiration as the Juno Beach Centre Association’s D-Day anniversary logo; it re-creates a moment caught on film when the North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment landed on Nan Red Beach (La Rive Plage). In the foreground, an infantry soldier has a strained expression on his face after surveying what lies ahead—this is his first real combat experience. A reassuring pat is a touching moment of humanity and a gesture of solidarity amid enemy fire and fear, while the wedding ring is a reminder of loved ones back home. In the sky above, a sequence of dots and dashes represent the letter V (for “Victory”) in Morse code; they allude to the radio broadcasts that announced the Allied landings that day. The reverse includes the word “CANADA”, the double dates “1944” and “2019”, and the face value “DOLLAR”. The obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Susanna Blunt.

Did you know…
  • It was one of the most carefully prepared operations of the war All forces (air, ground and naval) underwent intensive training to eliminate potential communication or logistic issues. By May 1944, troops, aircraft, ships, vehicles, supplies and equipment had secretly amassed in southeast England. Prefabricated harbours known as Mulberries were built for unloading cargo and underwater pipelines (Pluto) were put into place to convey fuel and oil across the English Channel.
  • Code-name: Juno Until the morning of June 5, troops only knew their landing destination by code name: Utah and Omaha Beaches (American forces) in the west; Gold Beach (British forces) and Sword Beach (British and French forces) in the east; and in the centre, Juno Beach (14,000 Canadian and 8,000 British forces).
  • The fleet From battleships and destroyers to landing craft infantry (LCIs) and transport ships, nearly 7,000 Allied vessels took part in the assault phase known as Operation Neptune.
  • Weather was a key factor The landings were originally scheduled for June 5, 1944, when a full moon would help illuminate the enemy’s defences. But a storm front moved in on June 4 and the landings were postponed. The weather improved on June 5, but it wasn’t ideal either: many of the troops got seasick during the rough Channel crossing.
  • Morse signal “V” for Victory (or “victoire”) began as a symbol of defiance and resistance in Occupied Belgium, and it quickly spread to other countries. BBC radio broadcasts transmitted the letter V in Morse code, with a “dot dot dot dash” sequence that resembled the opening notes of Beethoven’s famous Fifth Symphony. 

Packaging:

Your coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell with a black beauty box.

Order today!

Juno Beach Centre Association's D-Day anniversary logo.
The coin image shares the same inspiration as the Juno Beach Centre Association's D-Day anniversary logo; it recreates a moment caught on film when the North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment landed on Nan Red Beach (La Rive Plage). www.junobeach.org/juno75/

Reviews

Love this coin.

5

Love the coins for what they stand represent.

Paul

Burlington Ontario Canada

true

Fantastic coin.

5

A great way to remember sacrifices that were made for the Canada.

Gord

Vancouver, BC

true

It is lovely

5

as part of a collection

none

ON

true

Coin is very discriptive

4

Annivessary collections

DDay

canada

true

Love this coin.

5

Love the way we honour our soldiers. Will give yo grandson when he learns what happened over there

Regular Reg

Garson, Ontario, Canada

true

Yes

5

Nice keepsake

Deb

Ontario

true

Yes

5

Bought as a token of Remembrance of D-Day 75th Anniversary

TooTall

Kelowna

true

Completely satisfied

5

Happened to be on a tour of The Mint (which I highly recommend to anyone visiting Ottawa) on the 75th anniversary of DDay and thought it was just the right time to buy a commemorative coin, which I did. Very happy with the experience and the coin.

Casey

Kingston, Ontario

true

yes

4

Great keep sake

DAM 2406

Alberta Canada

true

A Stunning Piece

5

As a lover of history, I love having remembrances of major events, and this being the 75th of D-Day, I wanted something that I could keep as a memory and pass along to those who come after me. Hopefully a child of my own or a niece or nephew who also develops a love of history.

Alex

Milton, ON

true

170515en

4.8 111

97.1

Where near or in Winnipeg, Mb. can this coin be purchased? 2019 Proof Silver Dollar - The 75th Anniversary of D-Day No.170515 Mintage20,000 Composition99.99% pure silver Finishproof Weight (g) 23.17 Diameter (mm) 36.07 Edgeserrated Certificateserialized Face value1 dollar ArtistTony Bianco (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

Gary

Hello Gary and thank you for asking. This coin is presently available at our Winnipeg boutique situated at: 520 Lagimodière Boulevard Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 3E7 Boutique: 204-984-1144 877-WPG-MINT (974-6468) FACILITY HOURS Summer Hours (May long weekend to September long weekend) - Monday to Sunday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Chantal

Specifications

  • No.170515
  • Mintage20,000
  • Composition99.99% pure silver
  • Finishproof
  • Weight (g) 23.17
  • Diameter (mm) 36.07
  • Edgeserrated
  • Certificateserialized
  • Face value1 dollar
  • ArtistTony Bianco (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

Recently viewed items

allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

Dollar épreuve numismatique en argent 2019 - 75e anniversaire du jour J

Dollar épreuve numismatique en argent 2019 - 75e anniversaire du jour J

Épuisé
59,95 $CAD
Tirage : 20 000
STATUT :
Seulement au Canada et aux É.-U.

Ils sont arrivés par mer. Leur cible : Juno Beach.

Le 6 juin 1944, environ 14 000 Canadiens ont envahi les plages de la Normandie alors que les Alliés lançaient l’opération Overlord. Le jour J représentait le plus grand débarquement amphibie de l’histoire, et il y avait beaucoup en jeu. Pour gagner du terrain dans la « forteresse Europe », les troupes alliées devaient traverser un littoral fortifié d’obstacles minés, de casemates en béton, de nids de mitrailleuses et de batteries d’artillerie lourde.

« Ils s’entraînaient depuis des mois, sachant que la 3e Division d’infanterie canadienne et la 2e Brigade blindée canadienne seraient parmi les troupes d’assaut du jour J. Mais pour la grande majorité des soldats, il s’agissait du tout premier combat, de leur première expérience sous le feu de l’ennemi. On peut difficilement s’imaginer la peur – et l’espoir – qui les habitaient alors que leur péniche de débarquement approchait de la plage. »

Stephen Harris, CD, Ph. D., Direction – Histoire et patrimoine, Forces armées canadiennes

Le dollar épreuve numismatique en argent 2019 marque le 75e anniversaire du jour J en donnant un visage humain à un événement historique. Inspirés d’un moment réel provenant d’enregistrements vidéo originaux, l’angoisse d’un jeune soldat et un geste de soutien tout simple nous rappellent le courage de ceux qui ont porté un fardeau historique ce jour-là. Devant le danger et l’incertitude, les Canadiens se sont battus pour débarquer sur les côtes de Saint‑Aubin-sur-Mer, de Bernières-sur-Mer, de Courseulles-sur-Mer et de Graye-sur-Mer, tout en sachant qu’une fois ce premier combat gagné, ils étaient encore loin de la ligne d’arrivée.

Soulignez le 75e anniversaire du jour J en commandant dès aujourd’hui le dollar épreuve numismatique en argent 2019.

Caractéristiques particulières
  • NOTRE PIÈCE VEDETTE. Chaque année, le dollar épreuve numismatique est l’une des pièces de la Monnaie royale canadienne les plus convoitées, et ce, depuis 1937. L’édition 2019 marque le 75e anniversaire du jour J (6 juin 1944).
  • L’HISTOIRE, VUE D’UN AUTRE ŒIL. Le motif riche en détails donne un visage humain à un événement qui a changé le cours de l’histoire. Il s’agit d’un hommage au courage de tous les Canadiens qui ont débarqué de leur péniche dans la mire de l’ennemi.
  • LE DÉBUT. Le dollar épreuve numismatique 2019 n’est que le début d’une année de commémoration et de souvenir qui mettra en valeur plusieurs pièces. L’histoire du jeune soldat fait partie de la grande histoire du Canada dans la bataille de Normandie, laquelle se poursuit sur une pièce en or 14 carats (Retour sur nos pas).
  • LA REPRÉSENTATION D’UN SON. Une séquence de points et de traits représente la lettre « V » (pour « Victoire ») en code morse, clin d’œil aux bulletins radio qui ont annoncé le débarquement des Alliés.
  • UN RAPPEL DU RÔLE DU CANADA. Les Canadiens ont joué un rôle de premier plan lors du jour J et de la bataille de Normandie. Cette pièce rend honneur à leur contribution.
  • UN CERTIFICAT NUMÉROTÉ. La Monnaie royale canadienne certifie l’authenticité de toutes ses pièces de collection.
  • UN TIRAGE MONDIAL LIMITÉ à seulement 20 000 exemplaires.
  • DE L’ARGENT PUR À 99,99 %. Frappée de main de maître dans l’argent pur à 99,99 %, cette pièce est rehaussée d’un fini épreuve numismatique qui met en valeur les moindres détails du motif. Aucune TPS ni TVH.

Motif

Œuvre de Tony Bianco, la pièce nous ramène au matin du 6 juin 1944, quand la première vague de soldats canadiens se lance à l’assaut de Juno Beach. Tout comme le logo de l’anniversaire du jour J de l’Association Centre Juno Beach, la scène s’inspire d’un moment filmé lors du débarquement du Régiment North Shore du Nouveau‑Brunswick sur le secteur Nan Red de la plage (La Rive Plage). À l’avant-plan, on voit un soldat d’infanterie, les traits tendus après avoir jeté un coup d’œil sur ce qui l’attend – ce sera son tout premier combat. Puis, un moment touchant, une main rassurante sur son épaule qui dénote humanité et solidarité au milieu des tirs ennemis et de l’ambiance de peur, le jonc sur cette main rappelant les proches laissés derrière. Dans le ciel, la lettre « V » (pour « Victoire ») est représentée en code morse par une séquence de points et de traits qui évoque les bulletins radio qui ont annoncé le débarquement des Alliés ce jour-là. Le revers porte aussi la mention « CANADA », les années « 1944 » et « 2019 », et la valeur nominale « DOLLAR ». L’avers est à l’effigie de Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, selon Susanna Blunt.

Le saviez-vous?
  • L’opération était l’une des plus soigneusement préparées de la guerre. Toutes les forces (aériennes, terrestres et navales) avaient reçu un entraînement intensif pour éviter les problèmes éventuels de communication et de logistique. En mai 1944, des troupes, des aéronefs, des navires, des véhicules, du ravitaillement et du matériel avaient été secrètement massés dans le sud-est de l’Angleterre. Des ports préfabriqués, appelés ports Mulberry, serviraient à décharger les cargaisons, et des oléoducs sous-marins (Pluto) permettraient de transporter le carburant sous la Manche.
  • Nom de code : Juno. Jusqu’au matin du 5 juin, les troupes ne connaissaient leur destination que par son nom de code, soit Utah Beach et Omaha Beach (forces américaines) dans l’ouest; Gold Beach (forces britanniques) et Sword Beach (forces britanniques et françaises) dans l’est; et au centre, Juno Beach (14 000 Canadiens et 8 000 Britanniques).
  • La flotte. Des cuirassés et des contre-torpilleurs aux péniches de débarquement d’infanterie et aux bâtiments de transport, près de 7 000 bateaux alliés ont participé à la phase d’assaut nommée « opération Neptune ».
  • La météo a été déterminante. À l’origine, les débarquements étaient prévus le 5 juin 1944, où une pleine lune aurait éclairé les défenses ennemies. Or, en raison d’une tempête la veille, l’opération a été repoussée. Malgré une amélioration le 5 juin, la météo n’était pas idéale lors de la traversée de la Manche, qui en a rendu plus d’un malade.
  • Transmission en code morse. Le « V », pour « Victoire », était initialement un acte d’opposition et de résistance en Belgique occupée, symbole rapidement adopté par d’autres pays. BBC Radio transmettait la lettre en code morse, soit une séquence de trois points et d’un trait rappelant les premières notes de la célèbre cinquième symphonie de Beethoven.

Emballage

La pièce est encapsulée et présentée dans un boîtier à double coque bordeaux orné du logo de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Le boîtier est assorti d’une boîte protectrice noire.

Le logo de l'anniversaire du jour J de l'Association Centre Juno Beach
Le motif de la pièce et le logo de l'anniversaire du jour J de l'Association Centre Juno Beach proviennent de la même source d'inspiration : un moment filmé lors du débarquement du Régiment North Shore du Nouveau-Brunswick sur le secteur Nan Red de la plage (La Rive Plage). www.junobeach.org/fr/juno75/

Commandez votre exemplaire dès aujourd’hui!

Évaluations

j'en voudrais plusieurs de modèle semblable

5

très bon

Danyboy56

Thetford Mines

true

Je rachèterais ce produit

5

Très belle pièce de collection

Guymur

Gatineau

true

Dollar éprouve- 75e anniversaire du jour

5

J'aime les dollars épreuves pour ma collection.

Clair

Wakaw

true

Très bon produits

5

Merci

Jocelyn

Longueuil

true

Très belle pièce commémorative du débarquement de juin 1944

5

Mérite de faire partie de toute collection

Jean

St-Hyacinthe

true

J,aimerais que vous enlevez les frais de transport

3

Bien aimé je vais la donner à mon petit fils

Loulou

Victoriaille

true

Merci

5

Très bel hommage aux vétérans..

Luc

Montréal

true

75ieme juno beach

5

Belle piece bien exécutée. Plusieurs details de la scène. Très réaliste. Bravo à l equipe

Carole

Quebec

true

75e anniversaire du jour J

2

La photo de base est très belle, mais la pièce sans couleur ne représente pas bien la réalité de la photo

Norman

magog

false

Superbe épreuve

5

Comme toujours de très haute qualité.

J-P

Lasalle

true

170515fr

4.5 11

90.9

Spécifications

  • No 170515
  • Tirage20 000
  • Compositionargent pur à 99,99 %
  • Finiépreuve numismatique
  • Poids (g) 23,17
  • Diamètre (mm) 36,07
  • Tranchedentelée
  • Certificatnuméroté
  • Valeur nominale1 dollar
  • ArtisteTony Bianco (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

Articles visionnés récemment