allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

Pièce convexe en argent pur - 180e anniversaire du baseball au Canada - Tirage : 5 000 (2018)

Pièce convexe en argent pur - 180e anniversaire du baseball au Canada - Tirage : 5 000 (2018)

Archivé
159,95 $CAD
Tirage : 5 000
STATUT :
Seulement au Canada et aux É.-U.

Les « coutures » gravées rappellent une balle de baseball! Commandez dès aujourd’hui!

« Aucune règle ne contraignait à frapper la balle, excepté celle de l’honneur… » – Dr Adam E. Ford, Sporting Life, le 5 mai 1886

Le 4 juin 1838, il aura suffi, pour écrire une page de l’histoire du sport, d’un terrain vague, d’un bâton sculpté dans le bois de cèdre et d’une balle confectionnée avec du fil retors et du cuir de vachette. Cette pièce magnifiquement ciselée en l’honneur de l’un des premiers matchs de baseball à avoir été documenté non seulement au Canada, mais aussi aux États-Unis, vous transportera à Beachville, en Ontario, il y a 180 ans. D’une forme convexe rappelant celle d’une balle de baseball, cette pièce est ornée d’une œuvre qui souligne un moment historique et rend hommage à un sport très aimé dont les bruits de frappe et de foule rythment les étés des Canadiens depuis des générations.

Si vous aimez le baseball, cette pièce convexe est l’objet de collection parfait pour vous! Commandez dès aujourd’hui!

Caractéristiques particulières
  • UNE CÉLÉBRATION DE L’HISTOIRE DU BASEBALL AU CANADA. Un hommage spécial en l’honneur du 180e anniversaire du premier match de baseball documenté à avoir été disputé au Canada.
  • UNE PIÈCE CONVEXE QUI RESSEMBLE À UNE BALLE DE BASEBALL. La forme bombée exceptionnelle de cette pièce convexe en argent pur, évoquant une balle de baseball, fait du revers la toile de fond idéale pour célébrer ce sport, tandis que les « coutures » finement ciselées ajoutent un réalisme fou.
  • UN HOMMAGE À UN MATCH HISTORIQUE. Cette représentation artistique d’un match disputé en 1838 à Beachville, en Ontario, place l’observateur au premier rang, derrière le marbre.
  • UNE TECHNIQUE MODERNE QUI CRÉE UNE IMPRESSION D’ÉPOQUE. Des techniques de gravure modernes et des procédés de pointe confèrent à cette œuvre une allure ancienne remarquable et une multitude de détails. La nature historique du portrait se décline d’ailleurs dans bien d’autres éléments du motif, du choix de la police à l’équipement sportif d’époque.
  • INSCRIPTION À DOUBLE DATE. Les dates commémoratives « 1838 » et « 2018 » soulignent l’anniversaire.
  • CARACTÈRES D’ÉPOQUE. La valeur nominale « 25 DOLLARS » est gravée dans une police antique.
  • CERTIFICAT NUMÉROTÉ. La Monnaie royale canadienne certifie l’authenticité de toutes ses pièces de collection. La plupart sont accompagnées d’un certificat portant un numéro unique, la série commençant à 1.
  • TIRAGE MONDIAL LIMITÉ à seulement 5 000 exemplaires. Commandez votre exemplaire avant qu’il ne soit trop tard!
  • PIÈCE EN ARGENT PUR À 99,99 %! Aucune TPS ni TVH.

Motif

Le motif au revers, œuvre de l’artiste Steve Hepburn, allie savamment art et technique de pointe pour recréer un moment marquant de l’histoire sportive. Le revers bombé, rehaussé de coutures gravées, évoque la forme d’une balle de baseball, une toile de fond propice à cette représentation du premier match documenté à avoir été disputé en sol canadien, le 4 juin 1838, à Beachville, en Ontario. Le motif, ciselé avec une précision et un souci du détail remarquables, place l’observateur en plein cœur de l’action, derrière le marbre. Les joueurs de Beachville et de Zorra sont en place. L’équipe au champ est prête à attraper la balle, tandis qu’un batteur agrippe fermement sa batte en suivant des yeux la balle que vient d’envoyer le lanceur. À la droite de celui-ci, l’arbitre se concentre pour déterminer si la balle est fausse ou en jeu. Au bas est gravée la valeur nominale « 25 DOLLARS » dans une police antique. La bannière qui couronne la scène porte les dates commémoratives « 1838 » et « 2018 » de part et d’autre d’une reproduction de l’équipement de l’époque, soit deux battes en croix et une balle de fil retors recouverte de cuir de veau cousu.

Histoire

Le baseball n’est pas né ici, mais ses racines au Canada sont profondes. À preuve, un article du Dr Adam Ford, paru le 5 mai 1886 dans la revue Sporting Life, relatait dans ses moindres détails un match disputé le 4 juin 1838 à Beachville, en Ontario.

On fait mention du baseball – ou de ce qui s’y apparentait – dans des documents plus anciens comme des journaux intimes, des quotidiens et des règlements municipaux, mais ces occurrences comportent peu ou pas de détails sur les règles du jeu. Au Canada, le baseball est mentionné dans les écrits dès 1803, notamment à Hamilton, dans le Haut-Canada, où des documents rédigés le 4 juin 1819 viennent confirmer les dires du Dr Ford selon lesquels le match s’inscrivait dans les célébrations entourant le rassemblement de la Milice et l’anniversaire du roi George III.

On trouve des mentions écrites du baseball dès le 18e siècle dans ce qui est devenu les États-Unis, et plus tôt encore en Angleterre et dans le reste de l’Europe. C’est dans les années 1840, à New York, que le baseball voit le jour dans sa forme institutionnalisée, avec des règles semblables à celles que nous lui connaissons aujourd’hui. Au cours des deux décennies qui suivent, on le modernise en l’organisant et en le commercialisant. Simultanément, le sport progresse et prend de l’envergure au Canada, ce qui laisse supposer que les citoyens des deux nations ont contribué à le faire évoluer jusqu’à ce qu’il atteigne une popularité immense. Le sport ressemblait peut-être à notre variante contemporaine lorsqu’a eu lieu, le 4 juin 1838, le match amical opposant des citoyens de Beachville et de Zorra, dans le comté d’Oxford du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario, mais l’équipement et les règles étaient loin d’être les mêmes.

La balle, plus molle et un peu plus petite qu’à notre époque, était faite de fil retors recouvert de cuir de vachette cousu par le cordonnier du coin. La batte, était en fait un bâton sculpté dans du bois de cèdre dégrossi – en cette matière, on ne faisait pas de caprice, puisque selon le Dr Ford, « le rayon d’une roue de chariot ou n’importe quel bâton droit aurait fait l’affaire ».

Le terrain de jeu comprenait cinq points d’arrêt, soit quatre bases et un marbre. Chaque manche, tous les joueurs allaient tour à tour au marbre pour frapper en plein vol la balle envoyée par le lanceur. Le batteur courait ensuite d’une base à l’autre, mais pas nécessairement en ligne droite. Dans sa description, le Dr Ford mentionne également une pratique nommée « plugging » – à ne pas confondre avec le toucher – qui consistait pour un joueur à en retirer un autre en lançant une balle sur lui. Cette pratique, bien qu’elle était fréquente ailleurs, est souvent associée à la variante du sport nommée « Canadian Game » à laquelle s’adonnaient, jusqu’en 1860, les joueurs du sud-ouest de l’Ontario et les colons plus à l’ouest.

Le saviez-vous?
  • Le 4 juin 1838 était un jour de fête! Comme le prévoit le Statut du Haut-Canada de 1793, le rassemblement de la Milice avait lieu tous les ans le jour où était célébré l’anniversaire de George III.Cette année-là correspondait au 100e anniversaire de naissance du défunt roi, qu’un lien unit d’ailleurs au baseball : une lettre datant de 1748 raconte un match de « baseball » auquel ont pris part Frédéric de Galles et sa famille, dont son fils aîné, le futur roi George III.
  • Le compte rendu fait par le Dr Ford du match de 1838 à Beachville fait allusion aux racines historiques du sport au Canada. Y sont mentionnés des « hommes aux cheveux gris » qui dirigent les matchs en fonction de « la façon dont on les jouait quand ils étaient enfants ».
  • Le livre pour enfant A Little Pretty Pocket-Book (Un joli petit livre de poche) est la toute première publication qui fait mention d’un jeu ressemblant au baseball.
  • De nombreux écrits indiquent que des sports plus anciens s’apparentant au baseball étaient pratiqués au Canada. Par exemple, un journal de Nouvelle-Écosse parle de balle et de batte en 1841. En Ontario, au Manitoba et en Colombie-Britannique, on a découvert des battes rudimentaires dont le « rounder », un bâton court destiné à la balle molle.
  • La variante appelée « Canadian Game » se jouait généralement en deux manches au cours desquelles s’affrontaient deux équipes de 11 joueurs. Vers la fin de la décennie 1850, les joueurs du sud-ouest de l’Ontario commencent à adopter la façon de jouer new-yorkaise, plus rapide, en neuf manches opposant neuf joueurs. L’utilisation d’une balle plus lourde en caoutchouc explique alors l’abandon de la pratique du « plugging » au profit de celle du toucher, plus près de la façon de faire moderne.
  • C’est dans la ville de London, dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario, que l’on retrouve le plus vieux terrain de baseball encore en activité!
Emballage

La pièce est encapsulée et présentée dans un boîtier à double coque bordeaux orné du logo de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Le boîtier est assorti d’une boîte protectrice noire.

Commandez votre exemplaire dès aujourd’hui!

Évaluations

Spécifications

  • No 164434
  • Tirage5 000
  • Compositionargent pur à 99,99 %
  • Finiépreuve numismatique
  • Poids (g) 30,75
  • Diamètre (mm) 36,07
  • Tranchedentelée
  • Certificatnuméroté
  • Valeur nominale25 dollars
  • ArtisteSteve Hepburn (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

Articles visionnés récemment

MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%

Pure Silver Convex Coin - 180th Anniversary of Canadian Baseball - Mintage: 5,000 (2018)

Pure Silver Convex Coin - 180th Anniversary of Canadian Baseball - Mintage: 5,000 (2018)

$159.95 CAD

Payment plan options available

Mintage: 5,000
STATUS:
Canada and US only

THE ENGRAVED “STITCHWORK” CAPTURES THE LOOK AND FEEL OF A BASEBALL! Order today!

“There was no rule to compel a man to strike at the ball except the rule of honor [sic]…” – Dr. Adam E. Ford, Sporting Life, May 5, 1886.

June 4, 1838: An open pasture, a cedar “club,” and a ball made of yarn and stitched calfskin were all that was necessary to stage a match that made sports history. Travel back in time 180 years ago, to Beachville, Ont., in this engraved ode to one of the most detailed early accounts of a baseball game not only in Canada but also the United States! Shaped like a baseball, your convex-shaped coin showcases more than a historic moment: it is a celebration of a game so beloved that for generations of Canadians, the crack of the bat and the roar of a crowd are the quintessential sounds of summer!

If you enjoy baseball, this convex coin is perfect for your memorabilia display! Order today!

Special features:
  • CELEBRATE BASEBALL HISTORY IN CANADA! Your coin is a special commemoration of the 180th anniversary of the first detailed record of a baseball game played in Canada!
  • YOUR CONVEX COIN LOOKS LIKE A BASEBALL! The curvature of your convex-shaped coin results in an unusually shaped, pure silver canvas for our baseball-themed celebration. The addition of engraved “stitchwork” completes the effect—your coin looks like a baseball!
  • ARTISTIC REPRESENTATION OF THE 1838 GAME! In this artistic representation of the 1838 game played in Beachville, Ont., you are positioned at the heart of the action, from just behind the “knocker’s stone” (home plate today),
  • MODERN CRAFTSMANSHIP BUT AN OLD-TIME FEELING! Modern engraving techniques and cutting-edge technology allow for a wealth of engraved details in an image that has a remarkably vintage feel! The historic nature of the celebration isn’t lost in many of the other design elements—including the choice of font and a closer view of the equipment used at that time.
  • DOUBLE DATED! The double commemorative dates “1838” and “2018” on your coin celebrate the anniversary!
  • VINTAGE LOOKING FONT! On your coin, the denomination “25 Dollars” is engraved in a vintage-looking font!
  • INCLUDES SERIALIZED CERTIFICATE! The Royal Canadian Mint certifies all of its collector coins. Most of these are serialized certifications, meaning that each certificate is given a unique number, starting at 1.
  • LOW MINTAGE! Only 5,000 coins will be made available worldwide. Hurry and order yours today before they are all gone!
  • 99.99% PURE SILVER COIN! Your coin is GST/HST exempt!

Design:

Designed by artist Steve Hepburn, your coin deftly combines art and technology to re-create a historic sports moment. Paired with engraved stitchwork, the coin’s curvature transforms the reverse into a baseball-shaped canvas fit for commemorating the most detailed earliest documented game played in Canada. The highly detailed, precisely engraved image provides a prime view of the action during the match, which took place on June 4, 1838, in Beachville, Ont. As seen from behind the “knocker’s stone” (home plate today), the participants from Beachville and Zorra are all in position: one team stands in the open field, ready to catch the ball; a “knocker” (batter) from the opposing team grips the “club” (bat) as he keeps his focus on the ball tossed by the “thrower” (pitcher); to the right of him, an “umpire” leans in to rule whether the ball is “fair” or “unfair.” At their feet, the denomination “25 Dollars” is engraved in a vintage-looking font; in the arched banner above, the double commemorative dates “1838” and “2018” flank a rendering of the equipment used in that era: two clubs (crossed) and a yarn ball covered by stitched calfskin.

History

Baseball did not originate in Canada, but it does have a long history here. The proof lies in one of the most detailed published accounts of a game that took place on June 4, 1838, in Beachville, Ont., as recalled by Dr. Adam Ford in the May 5, 1886 issue of Sporting Life.

There are earlier accounts of baseball-type games but generally only as accidental references in diaries, news stories, or municipal ordinances, and with little or no detail as to the game’s play. Baseball type activity has been recorded as early as 1803 in Canada, and most significantly in Hamilton (Upper Canada)in 1819 on the same 4 June date further validating Ford’s account of the game’s place as part of the events surrounding Militia Muster Day and the celebration of George III’s birthday.

References to what was later dubbed the old-fashioned game appear in the 18th century in what became the United States, but even earlier than that in England and Europe. Its institutional formalization with rules close to the contemporary game would not occur until the 1840s led by its proponents in New York City, while its commercial and organizational modernization was a decade or two later. Contempraneous with its modernization in the United States was the development and growth of the game in Canada, suggesting that citizens of the two countries were partners in every stage of baseball’s ultimate evolution to mainstream popular appeal. On June 4,  1838, citizens of Beachville and Zorra (both in Oxford County, southwestern Ontario) took part in a friendly match that bears many similarities to today’s game, but with a few notable differences in regards to equipment and game play.

Softer and somewhat smaller than those used today, the baseball was made of twisted yarn covered with a layer of calfskin, and sewn by a local shoemaker. The “club” (bat) was crafted from cedar and hand hewn—although Ford stated, “a wagon spoke, or any nice straight stick would do.”
The playing field itself was square-shaped with five “byes”: four bases plus a home plate known as the “knocker’s stone.” In each inning, every team member had his turn as the “knocker” (batter), to whom the “thrower” (pitcher) would toss the ball within easy reach. Base running involved moving from “bye” to “bye”, although not necessarily in a straight line. Ford’s account also mentioned the practice of “plugging” (not tagging) a player off base by hitting him with the ball — a play that was common elsewhere but is often associated with “The Canadian Game,” which was played in southwestern Ontario until the 1860s and further west, where settlers brought the game with them.

Did you know…
  • June 4th, 1838 was a holiday! As decreed by the Statues of Upper Canada in 1793, the Militia Muster Day was held every year on the observed date of King George III’s birthday—and that particular date happened to be the late king’s 100th birthday. There is another connection between baseball and the king: a letter written in 1748 describes a game of “base-ball” played by Frederick of Hanover and his family, including his eldest son: the future King George III.
  • Dr. Ford’s account of the 1838 Beachville game hints at baseball’s earlier roots in Canada with his reference to “greyheaded men” who guided the play based on “the way they used to play when they were boys.”
  • The first printed mention of “base-ball” appeared in the 1744 children’s book, A Little Pretty Pocket-Book, intended for the Amusement of Little Master Tommy and Pretty Miss Polly with Two Letters from Jack the Giant Killer.
  • There is ample evidence that earlier baseball-type sports were played across Canada—including an 1841 Nova Scotian newspaper reference to ball and bat, and the discovery of early bats and rounders (a shorter bat used for a softball-like game) in Ontario, Manitoba and British Columbia.
  •  “The Canadian Game” typically featured two innings of play between two teams of 11 players. Towards the end of the 1850s, southwestern Ontario had begun adopting the faster New York style of play: nine innings with nine players on each team. The use of a heavier ball made of rubber also replaced the practice of “plugging” with tagging, similar to how it’s done today.
  • Southwestern Ontario—specifically London, Ont.—is also home to the world’s oldest, continually used baseball grounds!
Packaging:

Your coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell with a black beauty box.

Order your coin today!

Reviews

If I didn't own this coin I would buy it now

5

No comment

me

CA

true

Exactly what I wanted to go with the other sports coins

4

Great addition to my collection

Sam the collector

Saskatchewan, Canada

true

Need more baseball masterpieces

5

Canadian baseball fans do not have much to chose from when it comes to keepsakes. If you love baseball or have friends or kids playing little league this is a great option and will certainly be a walk-off homerun.

Jacks

Mississauga

true

I Love the design and would buy this annually...

5

Treasure

Treasure of Roche

Saint Augustine, FL

true

Baseball Coin

5

Loved the coin, it is unique and a great gift for a baseball enthusiast.

Judi

Calgary AB

true

180th Canadian baseball anniversary coin

5

A nice momento celebrating baseballs history in Canada.

Beliveau4

Abbotsford,BC

true

Not a standout

3

Some color would enhance the "flat" presentation

Nortrav

Medicine Hat

false

Perfect

5

Purchased as invest grade coin

Midwest buyer

St. Louis

true

baseball coin

5

perfect gift for Canadian baseball fan

Jimbob

Ingersoll

true

Nice coin, different.

5

Nice

Willem

GB

true

164434en

4.6 13

92.3

The baseball being a proof coin, does it come encapsulated for people to view and handle without tarnishing the condition. That would be important for me since the coin is rather expensive. Should have made a 2oz coin for this price...thank you

Steve

Hello and thank you for submitting your question. The coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell with a black beauty box.

Chantal (Customer Service)

Specifications

  • No.164434
  • Mintage5,000
  • Composition99.99% pure silver
  • Finishproof
  • Weight (g) 30.75
  • Diameter (mm) 36.07
  • Edgeserrated
  • Certificateserialized
  • Face value25 dollars
  • ArtistSteve Hepburn (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

Recently viewed items