allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

Pièce de 1 oz en argent pur - Seconde Guerre mondiale : Série Champs de bataille - La campagne de Normandie - Tirage : 7 500 (2019)

Pièce de 1 oz en argent pur - Seconde Guerre mondiale : Série Champs de bataille - La campagne de Normandie - Tirage : 7 500 (2019)

94,95 $CAD
Tirage : 7 500
STATUT :
Seulement au Canada et aux É.-U.

Une détermination à toute épreuve. La septième pièce de la série Champs de bataille poursuit l’histoire racontée sur le dollar épreuve numismatique 2019.

« Si des combats acharnés attendent ceux qui débarquent le 6 juin, à la fin du mois, les soldats de la 3e Division et de la 2e Brigade blindée triomphaient des chars allemands qui cherchaient à pénétrer la vallée de la Mue afin d’atteindre la côte de la Manche. Ils étaient maintenant des vétérans. » L’expert : Stephen Harris, CD, Ph. D., Direction – Histoire et patrimoine, Forces armées canadiennes

La campagne a débuté à Juno Beach, puis s’est poursuivie à Buron, à Authie, à Carpiquet, à Caen et à Falaise. Le débarquement du 6 juin 1944, dit le jour J, fut une réussite. Mais le coûteux chemin de la victoire en Normandie passerait par des villes et des villages où les troupes canadiennes seraient entraînées dans une guerre d’usure contre certaines des meilleures troupes ennemies : celles des divisions d’élite Panzer. Fort de son expérience de combat, le vigilant soldat représenté sur le dollar épreuve numismatique 2019 incarne maintenant la détermination inébranlable sur notre pièce de 1 oz en argent fin. Le plus récent ajout à la série Seconde Guerre mondiale : Série Champs de bataille souligne le 75e anniversaire de la campagne de Normandie, qui s’est déroulée du 6 juin au 30 août 1944. La pièce montre les troupes canadiennes avançant au-delà des plages; sont également représentées les ondes radio qui, lors de ce jour J marquant le début de la libération de l’Europe de l’Ouest, annoncèrent la victoire avec la lettre « V ».

Une émouvante pièce pour le 75e anniversaire de la campagne de Normandie. Commandez votre exemplaire dès aujourd’hui!

Caractéristiques particulières
  • SEPTIÈME PIÈCE DE LA SÉRIE. Cette pièce est la septième de la série Champs de bataille de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, en l’honneur des Canadiens qui ont participé à des combats déterminants.
  • UN HOMMAGE AUX SOLDATS CANADIENS. Cette pièce de 1 oz en argent fin souligne le 75e anniversaire de la campagne de Normandie (du 6 juin au 30 août 1944).
  • LA SUITE DE L’HISTOIRE. L’histoire du soldat d’infanterie qui a débuté sur le dollar épreuve numismatique 2019 se poursuit au revers de cette pièce. Elle fait partie d’une commémoration d’un an qui se conclura avec une pièce à très haut relief.
  • LE SON DE LA VICTOIRE. Le jour J marquant le début de la campagne de Normandie et de la libération de l’Europe de l’Ouest, les airs sont emplis d’ondes sonores qui produisent en code morse la lettre « V », pour « Victoire ».
  • UN AVERS FIDÈLE À L’HISTOIRE. Tout comme nos précédentes pièces sur le thème de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, celle-ci porte à l’avers l’effigie du roi George VI, le monarque de l’époque.
  • UN CASSE-TÊTE À ASSEMBLER. Tout comme les précédentes émissions de la série, cette pièce finement gravée est présentée dans un boîtier à double coque assorti d’une boîte protectrice spéciale. Une fois réunies, les différentes boîtes protectrices de la série forment une chronologie de la participation militaire canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale.
  • CERTIFICAT NUMÉROTÉ. La Monnaie royale canadienne certifie l’authenticité de toutes ses pièces de collection.
  • UNE ONCE D’ARGENT FIN. La pièce est frappée dans de l’argent pur à 99,99 %!
  • TIRAGE MONDIAL LIMITÉ à seulement 7 500 exemplaires.
  • AUCUNE TPS NI TVH!

Motif

Œuvre de Brad Anderson, le revers montre un soldat d’infanterie canadien avançant pendant la campagne de Normandie, qui se déroula du 6 juin au 30 août 1944. Derrière le soldat sont représentés un bâtiment d’assaut de débarquement comme ceux utilisés à Juno Beach et un char amphibie Sherman III qui symbolise les divisions blindées du Canada. En clin d’œil aux bulletins radio du jour J, qui marquait le début de la libération de l’Europe de l’Ouest, les airs sont emplis d’ondes sonores qui produisent en code morse la lettre « V », pour « Victoire ». L’avers est à l’effigie du roi George VI, selon T. H. Paget.

Vers la libération

Le jour J marque l’ouverture d’un deuxième front et le début de la libération de l’Europe de l’Ouest. Si le débarquement a pris l’ennemi au dépourvu, l’avancée des Canadiens à l’intérieur des terres les a menés face au pilier des forces de combat adverses.

Dans les vallées de la Mue et de l’Orne, la 3e Division et la 2e Brigade blindée du Canada se sont battues pour protéger la tête de pont et empêcher une contre-offensive, mais leur progression a été freinée par les réserves blindées de l’ennemi.

Le fer de lance canadien a subi d’importantes pertes à Buron et à Authie, où il a rencontré pour la première fois la 12e Panzerdivision SS; il a alors été forcé de se retirer de Putot-en-Bessin, qu’il est cependant parvenu à reprendre. Les 11 et 12 juin, des unités canadiennes et britanniques ont réussi à chasser les Allemands du village de Rots, mais l’attaque des Canadiens à Le Mesnil-Patry a été refoulée, se soldant par d’importantes pertes. Les Canadiens ont poursuivi leur progression; ce serait toutefois la dernière attaque d’envergure ce mois-là.

En juillet, la tête de pont étant enfin sécurisée, la 2e Division d’infanterie et la 4e Division blindée canadiennes ont grossi les rangs du 21e Groupe d’armée, qui avançait de peine et de misère. Des combats acharnés ont été livrés à Caen, à l’approche de Falaise, et lors des dernières batailles qui ont permis de cerner ce qu’il restait des forces ennemies en Normandie et d’ouvrir la voie vers la Seine. Du jour J au 23 août, on dénombre 18 444 pertes, dont 5 021 morts.

Le saviez-vous?
  • Pour le Canada, le 25 juillet 1944 est l’une des journées les plus sanglantes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. À Verrières, les Canadiens se butent à une résistance farouche et essuient plus de 1 500 pertes; hormis le raid sur Dieppe, c’est le plus grand nombre de pertes en une journée pour une même opération.
  • Les chars d’assaut Panther et Tiger des Allemands sont supérieurs au Sherman. Le profil élevé du Sherman en fait une cible facile, et quand ce char propulsé à l’essence est touché, il explose facilement. Une autre menace mortelle : le Flak 36, un canon antiaérien de 88 mm modifié pour la destruction de chars d’assaut.
  • La bataille de Caen coûte plus de vies que le débarquement du jour J. Le 9 juillet, les Canadiens finissent par prendre la ville et en débarrasser les tireurs d’élite et les mines de l’ennemi, mais au prix de 1 194 pertes.

Emballage

La pièce est encapsulée et présentée dans un boîtier à double coque orné du logo de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Le boîtier est assorti d’une boîte protectrice spéciale.

COLLECTIONNEZ TOUTES LES PIÈCES DE LA SÉRIE!

Chaque pièce est présentée dans une boîte protectrice illustrée exclusive : en mettant toutes les boîtes côte à côte, vous découvrirez une chronologie de la participation canadienne lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Évaluations

La campagne de Normandie

4

Elle très représentative de la guerre.

mamour

Québec Qc

true

147823fr

4.0 1

100.0

Spécifications

  • No 147823
  • Tirage7 500
  • Compositionargent pur à 99,99 %
  • Finiépreuve numismatique
  • Poids (g) 31,39
  • Diamètre (mm) 38
  • Tranchedentelée
  • Certificatnuméroté
  • Valeur nominale20 dollars
  • ArtisteBrad Anderson (revers), T. H. Paget (avers)

Articles visionnés récemment

allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

1 oz. Pure Silver Coin - Second World War: Battlefront Series: The Normandy Campaign - Mintage: 7,500 (2019)

1 oz. Pure Silver Coin - Second World War: Battlefront Series: The Normandy Campaign - Mintage: 7,500 (2019)

$94.95 CAD
Mintage: 7,500
STATUS:
Canada and US only

My steely resolve: Our seventh Battlefront coin is a companion piece to the 2019 proof dollar. Complete the story!

“Hard fighting would follow for those who landed on 6 June, but by the end of the month the soldiers of 3rd Division and 2nd Armoured Brigade had beaten off the German armour which threatened to penetrate the Mue Valley and reach the Channel Coast. They were now veterans.” The Expert: Dr. Stephen Harris, CD, PhD, Directorate of History and Heritage, Canadian Armed Forces

It began on Juno Beach, and it continued at Buron, Autie, Carpiquet, Caen, Falaise. The D-Day landings of June 6, 1944, were a success. But the costly path to victory in Normandy would take Canada’s troops through towns and villages, where they became embroiled in a battle of attrition against some of the enemy’s best troops: the elite Panzer divisions. Steeled by combat experience, the wary soldier from the 2019 Proof Dollar is now the image of steely resolve on this 1 oz. pure silver coin. The latest instalment in our Second World War: Battlefront Series commemorates the 75th anniversary of the Normandy Campaign (June 6-August 30, 1944). While your coin shows Canadian troops advancing beyond the beaches, D-Day and the beginning of the Liberation of Western Europe are represented by sound waves that stand in for the “V” for “Victory” radio signal.

Commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Normandy Campaign with this poignant coin. Order today.

Special features:
  • SEVENTH COIN IN SERIES: Your coin is the seventh in our Second World War Battlefront Series, which chronicles Canada's participation in key battles of the Second World War.
  • A SALUTE TO THE CANADIANS WHO SOLDIERED ON: Your 1 oz. pure silver commemorates the 75th anniversary of the Normandy Campaign (June 6-August 30, 1944).
  • A SOLDIER’S STORY CONTINUES: The infantry soldier’s story began on the 2019 Proof Dollar and it continues on this coin’s reverse. It is part of a yearlong journey of remembrance that concludes with an ultra-high relief coin…
  • THE SOUND OF VICTORY: Since D-Day marked the start of the Normandy Campaign and the Liberation of Western Europe, the air is filled with sound waves that represent “V” for “Victory” in Morse code.
  • HISTORICAL OBVERSE: Just like previous Second World War coins, the obverse features the period-appropriate effigy of King George VI.
  • COMPLETE THE SERIES TO GET EACH PIECE OF THE PUZZLE: Like previous Second World War: Battlefront Series coins, this finely engraved piece comes enclosed in a clamshell box within a custom beauty box. When placed spine to spine, the beauty boxes for each coin in the series form a timeline of Canada’s military role in the Second World War.
  • INCLUDES SERIALIZED CERTIFICATE: The Royal Canadian Mint certifies all of its collector coins.
  • 1 OZ. PURE SILVER: Your coin is crafted from 99.99% pure silver!
  • LIMITED WORLDWIDE MINTAGE: Only 7,500 coins will be made available worldwide.
  • NO GST/HST!

Design:

Designed by Brad Anderson, the reverse finds a Canadian infantry soldier advancing during the Normandy Campaign (June 6-August 30, 1944). He is flanked by an LCA carrier used at Juno Beach, and a Sherman III D-Drive tank that symbolizes Canada’s armoured divisions. To mark the beginning of the Liberation of Western Europe, the air is filled with the “sound” of victory ringing out in the form of sound waves, which represent “V” for “Victory” in Morse code—a nod to D-Day radio broadcasts. The obverse features the effigy of King George VI by T. H. Paget.

The Push to Liberation

It marked the opening of a Second Front and the beginning of the Liberation of Western Europe. But if the D-Day landings caught the enemy unawares, the push inland brought Canadians face to face with the backbone of the enemy fighting force.

Moving through the Mue and Orne river valleys, the 3rd Canadian Division and 2nd Canadian Armoured Brigade fought to protect the beachhead and prevent a counter-offensive, but their advance was stalled by the enemy’s armoured reserves.

The Canadian spearhead suffered heavy losses at Buron and Authie, where it first encountered the 12th SS Panzer Division; and it was forced to retreat from Putot-en-Bassin before recapturing it. On 11-12 June, Canadian and British units were able to push the Germans out of the town of Rots, but the Canadian attack on Le Mesnil-Patry was repulsed with heavy losses.  Although they continued to fight forward, that was the last major attack that month.

With the bridgehead finally secure, in July 2nd Canadian Infantry Division and 4th Canadian Armoured Division joined the fray as 21 Army Group clawed its way forward.  There was heavy fighting for Caen, on the approaches to Falaise, and in the final battles that trapped what remained of the enemy forces in Normandy and opened the way to the Seine.  Total casualties between D Day and 23 August numbered 18,444, of which 5,021 were fatal.

Did you know…
  • For Canada, July 25, 1944, was one of the bloodiest days of the Second World War. The Canadian advance on the town of Verrières was met with fierce resistance, resulting in more than 1,500 casualties—more single-day losses than any other operation, save the Dieppe Raid.
  • German Panther and Tiger tanks outmatched Sherman tanks. A higher profile made the Sherman an easy target; once hit, the gas-powered Sherman easily exploded into flames. Another deadly weapon? The 88-mm flake 36, a modified anti-aircraft gun that destroyed tanks.
  • The battle for Caen proved to be more deadly than the D-Day landings. By July 9, the Canadians had finally captured the city and cleared it of snipers and mines, but at the cost of 1,194 casualties.

Packaging:

Your coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded clamshell with a custom beauty box.

COLLECT THE ENTIRE SERIES:

Each coin is packaged in a custom graphic beauty box that is unique to the series: collect each coin and place the boxes spine to spine to see a timeline of Canada in combat during the Second World War.

Reviews

Great final No rmandy coin. Thrilled to see the DD Sherma.

5

Collection. Truly depicts the landing from the Channel. Could have shown the Para Guys.

"Cheers"

North Vancouver, B.C.

true

Very Nice

5

I have purchased from here before and will again

robracing

Brooklin

true

An important time in history

5

A gift for myself

Bob

Ottawa

true

Yes.

5

It is a very unique coin well done. Grear art work on it.

Boss

Winnipeg Manitoba

true

Yes I would buy again

5

The coin was a birthday gift for my brother. He loved it.

Steve

Montreal, Canada

true

147823en

5.0 5

100.0

Is it possible to order the earlier WWII coins?

Baking Grandma

Hello and thank you for asking. We do have still available earlier WWII coins. When on our website, you may search with the word "Battlefront" and the coins will be shown to you. If you need assistance, please call our Customer Solution Centre at 1-800-267-1871

Chantal

Does this come with additional information detailing the historical significance, outlining dates etc.?

L c

The certificate comes with a bit of info. The Mint website has a lot more. I wish the literature included with the coins had the "full" story, because some of these coins have great stories behind them, as seen on the Mint website.

I can't remember

Hello and thank you for asking. The coin comes with a serialized certificate giving a bit of information but not all the information you see online.

Chantal

Specifications

  • No.147823
  • Mintage7,500
  • Composition99.99% pure silver
  • Finishproof
  • Weight (g) 31.39
  • Diameter (mm) 38
  • Edgeserrated
  • Certificateserialized
  • Face value20 dollars
  • ArtistBrad Anderson (reverse), T. H. Paget (obverse)

Recently viewed items