allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding

Pièce photoluminescente de 2 oz en argent pur - Chutes aux mille feux - Tirage : 5 000 (2018)

Pièce photoluminescente de 2 oz en argent pur - Chutes aux mille feux - Tirage : 5 000 (2018)

Archivé
189,95 $CAD
Tirage : 5 000
STATUT :
Seulement au Canada et aux É.-U.

Sous la lumière noire, de splendides feux d’artifice illuminent les chutes Niagara! Commandez votre pièce dès aujourd’hui!

Les tonitruantes chutes Niagara, à la fois belles et redoutables, sont la toile de fond d’innombrables souvenirs. Grande attraction canadienne, la chute du Fer à cheval se déploie ici dans toute sa splendeur, et ce panorama en cache un autre : lorsqu’on le regarde dans l’obscurité sous une lumière noire (lampe comprise), le jour fait place à la nuit, et la plus ancienne série de feux d’artifice au Canada illumine le ciel surplombant la chute multicolore!

Un spectacle pyrotechnique qui luit dans le noir au-dessus des chutes Niagara : une image emblématique frappée dans de l’argent pur à 99,99 %! Commandez votre pièce maintenant!

Caractéristiques particulières
  • COMPREND UNE LAMPE DE POCHE À LUMIÈRE NOIRE! Les qualités artistiques de la pièce peuvent être admirées sous tous les éclairages, mais la lumière noire active une technologie spéciale.
  • UNE GRANDE MERVEILLE DE LA NATURE AU CREUX DE LA MAIN! Cette pièce photoluminescente (qui luit dans le noir) rend justice à la beauté spectaculaire de l’une des plus célèbres merveilles du pays, qui fait la fierté de nombreux Canadiens!
  • DEUX VUES DIFFÉRENTES SUR LA MÊME PIÈCE! Telle une photographie inaltérable, la pièce présente une coloration intégrale qui recrée l’image intemporelle de la chute du Fer à cheval si souvent photographiée à Niagara Falls, en Ontario. La scène est tout aussi magnifique la nuit, quand l’eau s’illumine et les feux d’artifice colorent de teintes éclatantes le ciel nocturne – comme on peut le voir en regardant la pièce dans l’obscurité!
  • UNE MERVEILLE TECHNIQUE! Fière démonstration de nos capacités artistiques et techniques, la scène nocturne cachée est réalisée grâce à l’intégration minutieuse des technologies de lumière noire et de photoluminescence au motif gravé et coloré.
  • UNE PIÈCE QUI DEVIENDRA VITE UN COUP DE CŒUR! Créé dans un style traditionnel, le motif suscitera la nostalgie chez quiconque a déjà ressenti le caractère envoûtant des chutes Niagara. Si l’illustration elle-même suffit à rendre la pièce magnifique, l’intégration imperceptible de la photoluminescence et l’image cachée piqueront la curiosité de tous vos proches à la recherche d’une expérience visuelle véritablement exceptionnelle!
  • CERTIFICAT NUMÉROTÉ! La Monnaie royale canadienne certifie l’authenticité de toutes ses pièces de collection. La plupart sont accompagnées d’un certificat portant un numéro unique, la série commençant à 1.
  • TIRAGE LIMITÉ! Seulement 5 000 exemplaires dans le monde.
  • DEUX ONCES D’ARGENT FIN! La pièce est frappée dans deux onces d’argent pur à 99,99 %.
  • AUCUNE TPS NI TVH!

Motif

On peut presque entendre le grondement assourdissant du torrent dans le motif au revers, œuvre de Tony Bianco. La vue en plongée offre un vaste panorama de la chute du Fer à cheval, que l’on voit presque entièrement. Une impression de mouvement se dessine au-dessus de la chute, le puissant courant du haut de la rivière Niagara et des rapides Cascade poussant l’eau par-dessus la cataracte en forme de croissant. Bordée par l’île Goat à gauche et par la rive ontarienne à droite, la chute de renommée internationale attire naturellement l’attention : un énorme volume d’eau se déverse par-dessus sa crête pour rejoindre la rivière plus bas, produisant ainsi un brouillard rafraîchissant. Une coloration intégrale vient rehausser la scène pittoresque, où l’eau prend un bleu presque aussi intense que le ciel. Mais ce motif nous réserve une surprise : l’application sélective des technologies de photoluminescence (la pièce luit dans le noir) et de lumière noire fait apparaître une deuxième vue de la scène, de nuit cette fois. Une tradition depuis 1925, l’illumination nocturne de la chute pare l’eau d’un éventail de couleurs flamboyantes, tandis que la plus ancienne série de feux d’artifice au Canada éclaire le ciel nocturne, symbolisant la fierté ressentie par de nombreux Canadiens pour l’une de nos merveilles naturelles les plus célèbres. L’avers est à l’effigie de Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, selon Susanna Blunt.

Le saviez-vous?
  • Le nom « Niagara » est probablement dérivé du mot « Onguiaahra », qui provient d’un dialecte de la famille des langues iroquoiennes. Il signifierait « le détroit » ou « le col », en référence soit à la rivière Niagara, soit au pont terrestre entre le lac Érié et le lac Ontario.
  • À cheval sur la frontière canado-américaine, les chutes Niagara se composent de trois chutes, mais seulement l’une d’entre elles se trouve majoritairement du côté canadien : la pittoresque chute du Fer à cheval, qui est aussi la plus grande des trois. Son bord s’étend sur 670 mètres, alors que les chutes américaines ont une largeur de 260 mètres.
  • En 1925, des projecteurs ont été installés sur le toit de l’une des chambres d’équilibre de l’Ontario Power Company pour éclairer les chutes Niagara et les rendre visibles après le coucher du soleil. Depuis, ils ont été remplacés par de nouvelles technologies, dont un système d’éclairage à DEL installé en décembre 2016 qui offre une lumière plus vive et un plus vaste éventail de couleurs. Les chutes sont également parées de couleurs symboliques aux occasions spéciales, telles que la fête du Canada, ou en soutien à des causes.
  • Le niveau d’eau est réglé minutieusement. Durant les périodes de pointe (et en saison touristique), on peut voir plus de 168 000 mètres cubes d’eau se déverser chaque minute à une vitesse de 109 kilomètres à l’heure!
  • Moins de 1 % de l’eau coulant dans les chutes Niagara est renouvelée chaque année; le reste est de l’eau fossile ou de l’eau de fonte provenant de la dernière période glaciaire, il y a 12 000 ans, quand le retrait des glaciers a sculpté la région des Grands Lacs.
  • L’eau doit sa teinte turquoise à son action érosive : environ 60 tonnes de poussière de roche et de sels et minéraux dissous franchissent la crête de calcaire chaque minute! Et l’érosion du roc se poursuit. Certains scientifiques ont avancé l’hypothèse que d’ici 50 000 ans, la chute du Fer à cheval aura tellement reculé qu’elle s’apparentera à de simples rapides!
  • Avec ou sans baril, il est illégal (et dangereux) de tenter de descendre les chutes Niagara. Quelques casse-cou y ont survécu, mais les poissons sont mieux équipés pour faire le saut – et ils le font! Leur corps plus léger et plus souple peut résister à la pression, tandis que les bulles d’air à la base de la chute amortissent le choc.

Emballage

La pièce est encapsulée et présentée dans un boîtier à double coque bordeaux orné du logo de la Monnaie royale canadienne. Le boîtier est assorti d’une boîte protectrice noire.

Commandez votre exemplaire dès aujourd’hui!

Évaluations

Si vous faites un 2 pour 1 je suis partant.

4

J'ai rétrécie le support de la pièce pour pouvoir mettre la lampe blacklight dans le même boîtier. Merci, je vous avais suggèré il a environ un an de faire une série sur les grandes chutes du Canada. P.S. Vous pourriez peut-être en faire une sur le pont de Québec avant qu'il ne s'écroule faute d'entretien.

Aucun

Québec

true

J'aime ce produit.

5

Très belleschutes

Francinette

Laval

true

chutes aux mille feux

5

Pièce magnifique.

chouchou

Québec

true

164883fr

4.7 3

100.0

Spécifications

  • No 164883
  • Tirage5 000
  • Compositionargent pur à 99,99 %
  • Finiépreuve numismatique
  • Poids (g) 62,69
  • Diamètre (mm) 50
  • Tranchedentelée
  • Certificatnuméroté
  • Valeur nominale30 dollars
  • ArtisteTony Bianco (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

Articles visionnés récemment

allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativeholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportstraditionalunder_50wedding

2 oz. Pure Silver Glow-in-the-Dark Coin - Fireworks at the Falls - Mintage: 5,000 (2018)

2 oz. Pure Silver Glow-in-the-Dark Coin - Fireworks at the Falls - Mintage: 5,000 (2018)

$189.95 CAD
Mintage: 5,000
STATUS:
Canada and US only
76% SOLD! 

Use black light to reveal stunning fireworks at Niagara Falls! Order your coin today!

A thunderous mix of raw power and beauty, Niagara Falls provides breathtaking views that are the backdrop to countless memories! Your coin offers a sweeping panorama of a great Canadian landmark, the Horseshoe Falls—but there’s a lot more to this coin than meets the eye. When you view your coin in the dark under a black light (included), day turns to night as Canada’s longest running fireworks series lights up the night sky above the colourfully illuminated falls!

Glow-in-the-dark fireworks and Niagara Falls, an iconic image on a 99.99% pure silver coin! Order today!

Special features:
  • INCLUDES A BLACK LIGHT FLASHLIGHT! The artistry of your coin can be appreciated in any light, but viewing it under a black light (included) activates the special technology!
  • A GREAT NATURAL WONDER IN THE PALM OF YOUR HAND! Your photoluminescent (glow-in-the-dark) coin captures the spectacular nature of one of Canada’s most iconic wonders, and a source of pride for many Canadians!
  • TWO DIFFERENT VIEWS ON ONE COIN! Like a lasting photograph, your coin features a full colour application that re-creates a timeless view of the often-photographed Horseshoe Falls in Niagara Falls, Ont. The setting is just as magnificent at night, when the water is illuminated and fireworks add a burst of colour to the night sky—as revealed when your coin is viewed in the dark!
  • A TECHNICAL WONDER, TOO! A proud showcase of our artistic and technical capabilities as the “hidden” night scene is made possible by carefully integrating black light and glow-in-the-dark technology into the colour-over-engraved image!
  • A SOON-TO-BE FAVOURITE! Rendered in a traditional style, your coin ignites a sense of nostalgia among those who have experienced the spellbinding nature of Niagara Falls. And while the art itself makes for a beautiful coin, the seamless integration of glow-in-the-dark technologies and the “hidden” image will intrigue any of your friends and family seeking a truly unique viewing experience!
  • INCLUDES SERIALIZED CERTIFICATE! The Royal Canadian Mint certifies all of its collector coins. Most of these are serialized certifications, meaning that each certificate is given a unique number, starting at 1.
  • LOW MINTAGE! Limited to 5,000 coins worldwide.
  • 2 OZ. OF PURE SILVER! Your coin is crafted from two ounces of 99.99% pure silver.
  • GST/HST EXEMPT! Your coin is GST/HST exempt.

Design:

You can almost hear the thunderous roar of rushing water in this reverse design by Tony Bianco. The elevated view provides a sweeping panorama of the Horseshoe Falls in its near entirety. There’s a sense of movement above the falls, where the powerful current of the upper Niagara River and the Cascade Rapids sends water racing over the crescent-shaped cataract. Bordered by Goat Island on the left and the Ontario shore on the right, the world-famous waterfall naturally commands attention as a tremendous volume of water tumbles over the crestline and into the river below, releasing cooling plumes of mist into the air. A full colour application only adds to the picture-perfect setting, where the water is nearly as blue as the sky above. But there is a hidden element to this design: a selective application of photoluminescent (glow-in-the-dark) and black light technologies allows for a second viewing of the scene, this time at night. A tradition since 1925, the nightly illumination of the falls adds an array of candy-like colours to the water while Canada’s longest running fireworks series lights up the night sky, embodying the pride that many Canadians have for one of our most famous natural wonders. The obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Susanna Blunt.

Did you know…
  • "Niagara" is likely a derivative of the word "Onguiaahra," which comes from a dialect in the Iroquoian language group. Its believed meaning is "the Strait" or "Neck"—a reference to either the Niagara River or the land bridge between Lake Erie and Lake Ontario. 
  • Straddling the international border between Canada and the United States, Niagara Falls comprises three waterfalls but only one is predominantly on the Canadian side: the picturesque Horseshoe Falls. This is also the largest of the three, with a rim measuring 670 metres across compared to the 260 metre-wide American Falls.
  • In 1925, lights were installed on the roof of one of the Ontario Power Company’s surge tanks to illuminate Niagara Falls and extend viewing time after dark. Since then, the original searchlights have been replaced with new technology, including LED lighting installed in December 2016 to provide brighter lights and a wider colour spectrum. The Falls are also lit in symbolic colours to mark special occasion such as Canada Day, or in support of a charitable cause.
  • Water levels are carefully regulated. During peak hours (and during the tourist season), one could see over 168,000 cubic metres of water per minute pour down at a speed of 109 kilometres or 68 miles per hour!
  • Less than one percent of the water flowing over Niagara Falls is renewed each year; the rest is “fossil water” or meltwater from the last glacial period 12,000 years ago, when the retreating ice carved out the Great Lakes region.
  • The water’s aquamarine colour is due to its erosive nature: roughly 60 tons of finely ground rock, dissolved salts and minerals are carried over the limestone crestline every minute! The Falls continue to erode the rock—some scientists have speculated that 50,000 years from now, the Horseshoe Falls will have withdrawn far enough to be reduced to little more than rapids!
  • Barrel or no barrel, it is illegal (and dangerous) to deliberately attempt to go over Niagara Falls. A few daredevils have survived, but fish are better suited to taking the plunge—and they do! The lighter, more pliable body of a fish is able to withstand the pressure, while air bubbles at the base of the waterfall helps cushion their fall.

Packaging:

Your coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell with a black beauty box.

Order today!

Reviews

Beautiful

4

Really lovely and fun the way it lights up with the blacklight.

Thanks

BC

true

I love this product.

5

Perfect gift for a young lad who loves the Falls at night.

Sandy

Ontario

true

Nice Gift

5

Came with a UV Flashlight. Looked great

Echo

Toronto

true

Love the Falls

5

Love the product, it's like 2 coins in one. Under the black light a whole different coin appears

JGS

Barrie

true

Nicely done. Good size.

5

Have been to the falls many times. this is a nice reminder. good detail. Nice coin to add to collection.

Mike

Calgary

true

Excellent coin

5

The coin is excellent! It is larger than I originally thought. The colours are fantastic as are the colours under the black light. Great quality!

David in Langley

Langley, Bac

true

A Hefty Piece Of Mint Artwork! Awesome!

5

The Falls piece is a very unusual and pleasant 2 troy ounce coin and has real eye appeal and intrinsic value. With the black light flash light that came with the order, the stunning night scene was something to behold! It's a terrific piece and despite the high cost, I feel that the high quality of the piece and the future demand for what will become a rare and hard to obtain piece, justifies it's price. Came beautifully package with a certificate of authenticity directly from the Canadian Mint. Received in about 8-10 days!

Uncle Matey

Erie, PA USA

true

Beautiful coin

5

I'm a collector !

Mil

Newmarket, Ontario

Very nice colouring

5

Love the glow in the dark feature

johnny_ticat

Hamilton, Ontario

true

Disappointed - Know it is just me but don't seem to see the

3

Does the light light up or how does it work?

Scotty

Ridgeway Ontario

true

164883en

4.6 35

96.9

What does the black light mean? Is the light within the coin or do we have to shine the light on it? Thank you.

Fran

Hello and thank you for asking. The artistry of your coin can be appreciated in any light, but viewing it under a black light (included) activates the special technology.

Chantal

Does this coin come with a plastic coin protector or do I have to wear gloves every time i want to pick it up to keep it untouched ?

Owen

Hello Owen and thank you for asking. This coin is encapsulated and presented in a Royal Canadian Mint-branded maroon clamshell with a black beauty box.

Chantal

Does the coin come with a black light?

Darkodave

Hello and thank you for asking. The coin does come with a black light.

Chantal (Customer Service)

What is the projected life span of the "glow in the dark" feature of this coin and also the projected life span of the colors used to color this coin? Is this an enamel that is well protected or will these colors fade out and disappear,say, 150 years down the road? Any research done by the Mint to this end? Thanks ahead of time.

Grumpy guy from South of the border

Hello. Thanks for your interest in this product. It was really fun to work on and I think the technology really brings the coin to life! We aren't anticipating any colour fading at all with this technology and we do protect the coins from wear and tear.

Libby (Product Team)

Specifications

  • No.164883
  • Mintage5,000
  • Composition99.99% pure silver
  • Finishproof
  • Weight (g) 62.69
  • Diameter (mm) 50
  • Edgeserrated
  • Certificateserialized
  • Face value30 dollars
  • ArtistTony Bianco (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

Recently viewed items