allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding
Returns are FREE (Canada only)

Discovery of Insulin - Commemorative Collector Keepsake (2021)

Discovery of Insulin - Commemorative Collector Keepsake (2021)

$24.95 CAD
You could earn at least 250 points ?
Mintage: 100,000
STATUS:
Canada and US only
Q&A Ask Questions, share answers
More

Own a circulation set with TWO versions of the 2021 $2 Discovery of Insulin coin. Order today!

In 2021, our $2 Discovery of Insulin circulation coin commemorates the 100th anniversary of a Canadian innovation that has saved millions of lives. You’ll find two different versions of the $2 commemorative coin in this seven-piece keepsake set: a selectively coloured piece and a non-coloured version. Packaged alongside five other denominations issued in 2021, these uncirculated circulation coins come ready to view and display in a keepsake collector card that celebrates a Canadian medical breakthrough.

An easy way to get both versions of the $2 Discovery of Insulin coin. Order your set today!†

Special features:
  • A SCIENTIFIC CENTENNIAL: In 2021, Canada’s $2 circulation coin commemorates the 100th anniversary of one of Canada’s greatest contributions to medical research: the discovery of insulin in 1921.
  • SEVEN COINS IN ONE SET! Your Commemorative Collector Keepsake includes seven (7) Canadian circulation coins issued in 2021:
    • 5-cent coin
    • 10-cent coin
    • 25-cent coin
    • $1 coin
    • $2 coin
    • a struck-only $2 commemorative circulation coin
    • a coloured $2 commemorative circulation coin
  • TWO $2 COINS! With this set, your collection will proudly include two different versions of the 2021 $2 Discovery of Insulin coin. Both coins share the same design, but the coloured edition features a touch of blue that highlights insulin on the 100th anniversary of its discovery. Blue is the colour that globally represents diabetes awareness.
  • PACKAGED WITH CARE! All seven coins are packaged in a ready-to-display collector card that adds to the story told on the $2 coins.
  • A SPECIAL CONNECTION! Celebrate a Canadian innovation that has had a global impact! Chances are, you or someone you know has a connection to this discovery, which has saved the lives of countless people worldwide.
  • PROUDLY CANADIAN! On the reverse of the $2 coin, the maple leaf behind the laboratory equipment proudly identifies this discovery as a Canadian medical breakthrough and a towering scientific achievement.
  • IT’S ALL IN THE DETAILS! The $2 coin’s reverse design conveys energy and hope. The story on the inner core moves from the laboratory (right) to the isolation of insulin (left), while the depiction of insulin regulating blood glucose levels extends onto the outer ring.
  • SECURITY FEATURE! Also on your $2 coins, the engraved maple leaves serve a dual purpose as both a symbol of Canada and a cutting-edge security feature that ensures the coin’s authenticity.

Design:
Designed by Canadian artist Jesse Koreck, the reverse is double dated (“1921 2021”) to commemorate the 100th anniversary of a Canadian medical innovation. The discovery of insulin at the University of Toronto is represented by a maple leaf and traditional symbols: an early insulin vial, an Erlenmeyer flask, a mortar and pestle. The inner core shows insulin in monomeric form, which is highlighted in blue on selectively coloured coins, while the depiction of the hormone at work in the bloodstream extends onto the outer ring. The obverse features the effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II by Susanna Blunt.

"This coin energetically illustrates the molecular wonder of insulin and is a true celebration of Canadian scientific innovation."  - Jesse Koreck, Artist

The importance of symbols and their power to motivate cannot be underestimated. The multilayered approach this coin uses to illustrate the insulin hormone and the science behind its discovery uniquely commemorates this defining moment in Canadian medical science. As we celebrate the 100th anniversary of the discovery of insulin, we are reminded that while we may have better insulin today, the search for the cure for diabetes continues.- Grant Maltman, Curator, Banting House National Historic Site of Canada, Diabetes Canada

“The impact that the discovery of insulin has had on the global community cannot be overstated. Working on this project has given me a new appreciation for how this Canadian innovation has affected the lives of millions of people over the course of a century.”  - Erica Maga, Product Manager

I had a lot of fun engraving a variety of elements. For example, how do you capture the transparency of glass? The solution was to sculpt the beaker in the negative space and the liquid in the positive space. We even have micro text engraved on the label of the insulin bottle, which was a challenge in itself, and CNC Technician Pascal Clément did a fantastic job with that.” - Traian Georgescu, Engraver

Did you know?
  • The contributions of Frederick Banting, Charles Best, James Collip and John Macleod represent a watershed moment in diabetes research and treatment. In the pre-insulin era, diabetes mellitus was always fatal; today, better health outcomes and a much longer life expectancy can be achieved through treatments like insulin.
  • More than 463 million people worldwide are currently living with diabetes, including 11.5 million Canadians who are living with diabetes or prediabetes.

Packaging:
Your coins come packaged in a custom collector card, complete with colourful visuals and information that add to the story told on the $2 coins.

Order today!

†Free standard shipping in Canada only.

Reviews

Specifications

  • No.201723

2021 $2 Discovery of Insulin Coloured Coin

  • Compositionouter ring: three-ply nickel finish plated steel; inner core: three-ply brass finish plated aluminum bronze
  • Finishcirculation
  • Weight (g) 6.99
  • Diameter (mm) 28
  • Edgeinterrupted serrations
  • ArtistJesse Koreck (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

2021 $2 Discovery of Insulin Uncoloured Coin

  • Compositionouter ring: three-ply nickel finish plated steel; inner core: three-ply brass finish plated aluminum bronze
  • Finishcirculation
  • Weight (g) 6.99
  • Diameter (mm) 28
  • Edgeinterrupted serrations
  • ArtistJesse Koreck (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

2 dollars (2021)

  • Compositionthree-ply nickel finish plated steel (outer ring); three-ply brass finish plated aluminum bronze (inner core)
  • Finishuncirculated
  • Weight (g) 6.99
  • Diameter (mm) 28
  • Edgeinterrupted serrations
  • ArtistBrent Townsend (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

1 dollar (2021)

  • Compositionthree-ply brass plated steel
  • Finishuncirculated
  • Weight (g) 6.27
  • Diameter (mm) 26.5
  • Edgeplain
  • ArtistRobert-Ralph Carmichael (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

25 cents (2021)

  • Compositionthree-ply nickel finish plated steel
  • Finishuncirculated
  • Weight (g) 4.4
  • Diameter (mm) 23.88
  • Edgereeded
  • ArtistEmanuel Hahn (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

10 cents (2021)

  • Compositionthree-ply nickel finish plated steel
  • Finishuncirculated
  • Weight (g) 1.75
  • Diameter (mm) 18.03
  • Edgereeded
  • ArtistEmanuel Hahn (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

5 cents (2021)

  • Compositionthree-ply nickel finish plated steel
  • Finishuncirculated
  • Weight (g) 3.95
  • Diameter (mm) 21.2
  • Edgeplain
  • ArtistG.E. Kruger Gray (reverse), Susanna Blunt (obverse)

Recently viewed items

Privacy Notice Statement:

The Royal Canadian Mint (the Mint) is a federal Crown corporation and is committed to protecting the privacy rights of individuals and safeguarding the personal information under its control in accordance with the provisions of the Privacy Act (the Act). The personal information requested is collected under the authority of the Royal Canadian Mint Act for the purpose of providing the Product Review and the Q&A functionality on mint.ca and is handled as described in personal information bank Public Communications PSU 914. This page is not intended to address customer-service related issues.

The Mint retains the services of a third party vendor, PowerReviews Inc. (PowerReviews), to capture customer feedback via reviews of Mint products and via the Q&A feature. PowerReviews' Privacy Policy can be consulted here.

If you choose to provide content via the Product Review channel and do not provide your email, no effort will be made to link the review to your identity. It is important therefore to not include any personally identifiable information in the text boxes. You are encouraged to make fact-based statements that also do not include your personal views and opinions about another individual as the Act considers this to be the personal information of the other individual. Any personal information included will be protected and retained according to the provisions of the Act.

Should you elect to provide your email address via the Product Review page (optional), it will be transmitted directly and securely to PowerReviews for the sole purpose of determining your status as a "verified reviewer". The email address will not be published or further used or disclosed by PowerReviews and will not be disclosed back to the Mint. Note however that the email address of the reviewer becomes marked as verified throughout the PowerReviews platform. Customer reviews provided via post-purchase emails sent by the Mint determine your status as a "verified buyer" of the product in question. Provision of an email address is required for the Q&A functionality in order to notify you that your question has been answered. These email addresses are not further used or retained by PowerReviews or the Mint.

Under the Act, you have the right to the protection of your personal information and the right to access and to request corrections where you believe there is an error or omission. All questions or concerns about your personal information and the Mint’s privacy practices can be directed to the Mint's ATIP Office at atip@mint.ca or 613-993-2711. In addition, individuals have the right to file a complaint with the Privacy Commissioner of Canada regarding the Mint's handling of their personal information.

allbirthdaycanadianacommemorativegiftholidayslunarmoins_de_50MONEY BACKGUARANTEE100%REMBOURSEMENT GARANTI100%newbornpopsportssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubssubstraditionalunder_50wedding
Les retours sont GRATUITS (Canada seulement)

Collection de pièces-souvenirs commémoratives 2021 - Découverte de l’insuline (2021)

Collection de pièces-souvenirs commémoratives 2021 - Découverte de l’insuline (2021)

24,95 $CAD
Vous pourriez accumuler au moins 250 points ?
Tirage : 100 000
STATUT :
Seulement au Canada et aux É.-U.
Questions et réponses Poser des questions, partager des réponses
Plus

Procurez-vous la collection de pièces de circulation comprenant DEUX versions de la pièce de 2 $ 2021 Découverte de l’insuline. Commandez-la dès aujourd’hui!

Notre pièce de circulation de 2 $ 2021 Découverte de l’insuline souligne le 100e anniversaire d’une innovation canadienne qui a sauvé des millions de vies. Cette collection de sept pièces-souvenirs comprend deux versions – l’une avec coloration sélective et l’autre non colorée – de la pièce commémorative de 2 $. Accompagnées de pièces millésimées 2021 de cinq autres valeurs nominales, ces pièces de circulation qui n’ont jamais circulé sont prêtes à être admirées et exposées dans une carte de collection honorant une percée médicale canadienne.

Une façon simple de vous procurer les deux versions de la pièce de 2 $ Découverte de l’insuline. Commandez votre collection sans tarder†!

Caractéristiques particulières
  • UN CENTENAIRE SCIENTIFIQUE! La pièce de circulation canadienne de 2 $ 2021 souligne le centenaire de l’une des plus grandes contributions du Canada à la recherche médicale : la découverte de l’insuline, en 1921.
  • UN ENSEMBLE, SEPT PIÈCES! Votre collection de pièces-souvenirs commémoratives comprend sept (7) pièces de circulation canadiennes émises en 2021 :
    • Une pièce de 5 cents
    • Une pièce de 10 cents
    • Une pièce de 25 cents
    • Une pièce de 1 $
    • Une pièce de 2 $
    • Une pièce de circulation commémorative non colorée de 2 $
    • Une pièce de circulation commémorative avec coloration sélective de 2 $
  • DEUX PIÈCES DE 2 $! Grâce à cette collection, vous aurez la fierté de posséder deux versions de la pièce de 2 $ 2021 Découverte de l’insuline. Les deux pièces sont ornées du même motif, mais la version colorée comprend une touche de bleu qui met en valeur l’insuline à l’occasion du 100e anniversaire de sa découverte. Le bleu est la couleur associée à la sensibilisation au diabète dans le monde.
  • PRÉSENTATION SOIGNÉE! Les sept pièces sont présentées dans une carte de collection prête à être exposée qui complète l’histoire racontée sur les pièces de 2 $.
  • UN LIEN SPÉCIAL! Célébrez une innovation canadienne aux retombées mondiales! Il y a de fortes chances que pour vous ou l’un de vos proches, cette découverte – qui a permis de sauver d’innombrables vies dans le monde – ait une importance toute particulière.
  • LA FIERTÉ D’UN PEUPLE! Au revers de la pièce de 2 $, la feuille d’érable derrière le matériel de laboratoire établit fièrement cette découverte comme une percée médicale canadienne et une réalisation scientifique de grande envergure.
  • TOUT EST DANS LES DÉTAILS! Le motif au revers de la pièce de 2 $ évoque le dynamisme et l’espoir. L’histoire sur le disque central de la pièce nous transporte du laboratoire (à droite) jusqu’à l’isolement de l’insuline (à gauche), tandis que la représentation de l’insuline régulant le taux de glycémie s’étend sur l’anneau extérieur.
  • CARACTÉRISTIQUES DE SÉCURITÉ! Les feuilles d’érable gravées sur les pièces de 2 $ sont à la fois un symbole canadien et une caractéristique de sécurité de pointe qui en garantit l’authenticité.

Motif
Le motif au revers, œuvre de l’artiste canadien Jesse Koreck, présente une double date (« 1921 2021 ») qui souligne le 100e anniversaire d’une innovation médicale canadienne. La découverte de l’insuline, faite à l’Université de Toronto, est représentée par une feuille d’érable et des symboles traditionnels : un ancien flacon d’insuline, un erlenmeyer, un mortier et un pilon. Sur le disque central, on voit de l’insuline sous forme monomère, rehaussée de touches de bleu sur la version colorée de la pièce, tandis que la représentation de l’hormone à l’œuvre dans le sang s’étend sur l’anneau extérieur. L’avers est à l’effigie de Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, selon Susanna Blunt.

« Cette pièce exprime avec dynamisme les merveilles moléculaires de l’insuline. C’est une véritable célébration de l’innovation scientifique canadienne. »  Jesse Koreck, artiste

« On ne saurait sous-estimer l’importance des symboles et leur pouvoir de motivation. La disposition d’éléments pluriels sur cette pièce pour illustrer l’hormone insuline et la science qui sous-tend sa découverte met en lumière cette prouesse de la recherche médicale au Canada. La célébration du 100e anniversaire de la découverte de l’insuline nous rappelle que bien que nous disposions aujourd’hui d’une insuline de meilleure qualité, la recherche d’un remède pour guérir le diabète se poursuit. » Grant Maltman, conservateur, lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Banting, Diabète Canada

« On ne saurait trop insister sur l’impact mondial de la découverte de l’insuline. En travaillant sur ce projet, j’ai réussi à mieux comprendre comment cette innovation canadienne avait touché la vie de millions de personnes au cours du dernier siècle. » – Erica Maga, chef de produits

« J’ai eu beaucoup de plaisir à graver les différents éléments. Par exemple, comment rend-on la transparence du verre? La solution consistait à sculpter le bécher dans l’espace négatif et le liquide dans l’espace positif. Nous avons même fait graver des microcaractères sur l’étiquette du flacon d’insuline, ce qui était un défi en soi. Le technicien en commande numérique par ordinateur Pascal Clément a réussi à le faire avec brio. » – Traian Georgescu, graveur, Monnaie royale canadienne

Le saviez-vous?
  • Les contributions de Frederick Banting, Charles Best, James Collip et John Macleod représentent un grand tournant dans la recherche et le traitement du diabète. Avant la découverte de l’insuline, une personne atteinte du diabète sucré était condamnée à mourir; aujourd’hui, les personnes diabétiques jouissent d’un meilleur état de santé et d’une espérance de vie beaucoup plus longue grâce à des traitements comme l’insuline.
  • Plus de 463 millions de personnes dans le monde vivent actuellement avec le diabète, et on estime que 11,5 millions de Canadiens sont atteints de diabète ou de prédiabète.

Emballage
Les pièces sont placées dans une carte de collection spécialement conçue où sont présentées des images colorées et de l’information qui complètent l’histoire racontée par les pièces de 2 $.

Passez votre commande dès aujourd'hui.

† Livraison standard gratuite au Canada seulement.

Évaluations

Spécifications

  • No 201723

Pièce de 2 $ 2021 - Découverte de l’insuline (version colorée)

  • Compositionanneau extérieur : placage triple sur acier, fini nickel; disque central : placage triple sur bronze d’aluminium, fini laiton
  • Finicirculation
  • Poids (g) 6,99
  • Diamètre (mm) 28
  • Tranchealternance de parties lisses et dentelées
  • ArtisteJesse Koreck (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

Pièce de 2 $ 2020 - Découverte de l’insuline (version non colorée)

  • Compositionanneau extérieur : placage triple sur acier, fini nickel; disque central : placage triple sur bronze d’aluminium, fini laiton
  • Finicirculation
  • Poids (g) 6,99
  • Diamètre (mm) 28
  • Tranchealternance de parties lisses et dentelées
  • ArtisteJesse Koreck (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

2 dollars (2021)

  • Compositionplacage triple sur acier, fini nickel (anneau extérieur); placage triple sur bronze d'aluminium, fini laiton (disque central)
  • Finihors-circulation
  • Poids (g) 6,99
  • Diamètre (mm) 28
  • Tranchealternance de parties lisses et dentelées
  • ArtisteBrent Townsend (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

1 dollar (2021)

  • Compositionplacage triple sur acier, fini laiton
  • Finihors-circulation
  • Poids (g) 6,27
  • Diamètre (mm) 26,5
  • Tranchelisse
  • ArtisteRobert-Ralph Carmichael (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

25 cents (2021)

  • Compositionplacage triple sur acier, fini nickel
  • Finihors-circulation
  • Poids (g) 4,4
  • Diamètre (mm) 23,88
  • Tranchecannelée
  • ArtisteEmanuel Hahn (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

10 cents (2021)

  • Compositionplacage triple sur acier, fini nickel
  • Finihors-circulation
  • Poids (g) 1,75
  • Diamètre (mm) 18,03
  • Tranchecannelée
  • ArtisteEmanuel Hahn (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

5 cents (2021)

  • Compositionplacage triple sur acier, fini nickel
  • Finihors-circulation
  • Poids (g) 3,95
  • Diamètre (mm) 21,2
  • Tranchelisse
  • ArtisteG.E. Kruger Gray (revers), Susanna Blunt (avers)

Articles visionnés récemment

Énoncé de confidentialité

La Monnaie royale canadienne est une société d'État fédérale. Elle s'engage à protéger le droit à la vie privée des personnes et à protéger les renseignements personnels qu'elle détient conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (la Loi). Les renseignements personnels demandés sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur la Monnaie royale canadienne pour les fonctions Évaluations des produits et Questions et réponses sur le site monnaie.ca. De plus, ils sont gérés de la manière décrite dans le fichier de renseignements personnels Communications publiques POU 914. Il convient de noter que cette page ne traite pas des problèmes liés au service à la clientèle.

La Monnaie fait appel à PowerReviews Inc. (PowerReviews), un fournisseur indépendant, pour recueillir les commentaires de ses clients par l'intermédiaire des fonctions Évaluations des produits et Questions et réponses sur son site Web. La politique de confidentialité de PowerReviews se trouve ici.

Si vous choisissez de fournir du contenu par l'intermédiaire d'une évaluation de produit, mais ne fournissez pas votre adresse courriel, aucun effort ne sera déployé pour lier l'évaluation à votre identité. Par conséquent, il est important de ne pas inclure de renseignements qui permettent de vous identifier dans les boîtes de texte. Nous vous incitons à formuler des énoncés fondés sur des faits qui n'incluent pas votre point de vue ni votre opinion personnelle à l'égard d'une autre personne, puisque la Loiconsidère qu'il s'agit de renseignements personnels sur l'autre personne. Tout renseignement personnel sera protégé et conservé conformément aux dispositions de la Loi.

Si vous choisissez de fournir votre adresse courriel sur la page d'évaluation d'un produit (facultatif), elle sera transmise directement et de façon sûre à PowerReviews uniquement pour déterminer votre statut d' « évaluateur certifié ». Votre adresse courriel ne sera pas publiée, réutilisée ou divulguée par PowerReviews, et ne sera pas retransmise à la Monnaie. Toutefois, veuillez noter que l'adresse courriel de l'évaluateur devient identifiée comme étant vérifiée sur la plateforme de PowerReviews. Les évaluations des clients fournies dans le cadre de courriels envoyés par la Monnaie à la suite d'un achat permettent d'établir votre statut d' « acheteur certifié » pour le produit en question. Il est nécessaire de fournir une adresse courriel pour l'utilisation de la fonction Questions et réponses, afin que vous puissiez recevoir une notification lorsque votre question aura été traitée. Ces adresses courriel ne seront pas réutilisées ou conservées par PowerReviews ou par la Monnaie.

En vertu de la Loi, vous avez le droit à la protection de vos renseignements personnels ainsi que le droit d'accéder à vos renseignements personnels et d'exiger que des modifications y soient apportées, s'ils sont erronés ou incomplets. Toute question ou préoccupation au sujet de vos renseignements personnels et des pratiques de la Monnaie en matière de confidentialité peut être envoyée au bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de la Monnaie par courriel à atip@monnaie.ca ou par téléphone au 613-993-2711. En outre, vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada concernant la gestion par la Monnaie de vos renseignements personnels